Deltang TX22

PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
23,184
407
Tamworth, Staffs.
Philp, I have just followed the drawings to the letter with no success, so can I take up your offer &send it to you so I can have a working TX .Thank you.ChopperCook.
I will start a 'conversation..
Look for a red box with a number.. Top right of screen, between the small copy of your Avatar picture, and the bell.. :)
PhilP.
 
dunnyrail

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
14,821
347
71
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Philp, I have just followed the drawings to the letter with no success, so can I take up your offer &send it to you so I can have a working TX .Thank you.ChopperCook.
I can see your Pain and hopefully Phil will sort it all out for you.

Your experiences are one of the reasons that I have never gone down the Deltang route for my Battery Conversions.

Fosworks Kit can be provided pre bound and they will let you buy all the kit with a Wiring Loom which makes everything Plug and Play. Not cheep but it does all work even Sound if you want it.

As for costs, well you do get a lot of Plastic for your Money in G and my motto is that less is more. Though it has to be said depending on your Wagon and Coach requirements, many 00 and even N Gauge are getting almost as expensive these days.
 
chris m01

chris m01

Registered
24 Oct 2009
4,430
29
Birmingham, UK
Phil is a good guy and I am sure he will get everything sorted. I'm a happy user of the Deltang system. Binding is very very easy.
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
23,184
407
Tamworth, Staffs.
Missed the Postie yesterday, but liberated the Tx22 from them this morning..

Powered the Tx2 module (on its' own), and it appears to power-up OK. Won't know until I sort out the knitting, whether any of the inputs/outputs have been blown, but it is looking hopeful.
:)
 
Choppercook

Choppercook

Registered
29 May 2019
34
8
64
Norfolk
Thanks Phil, so it looks like I wired it all up wrong? Yes.
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
23,184
407
Tamworth, Staffs.
Thanks Phil, so it looks like I wired it all up wrong? Yes.
No names, no pack-drill.. But, errrr yes, sorry!
Oh, did you have any 'bits' left-over? :rofl: I was a few bits short of a transmitter. ;)

To be fair, as I said before, not a kit for a beginner! - Not it is difficult, or has a great deal of parts, but I do not rate the method of construction, or instructions.
Though Andy has added some bits and extra pages of notes.

You are not the first, and no-doubt not the last, who will yell 'help!' with one of these kits.

Out of curiosity (and in the interest of longevity of the transmitter) did you use flux-paste of some sort?
If so, what was it??

Basically:
Power switch had got too hot whilst you were soldering it. - It no longer latched. Replaced.
Resistors were not right, and I was a couple missing? - Found one in a lead it should not have been in. - I salvaged a couple, and replaced the rest.
Although 'electrons are colour-blind' and do not care what colour the wires are.. It is so much easier if things are colour-coded. Some of the soldered joints were a little dry and brittle. - So I stripped the wiring and replaced it.
Cleaned-up the Tx2 module (brains of the transmitter) and it just needs wiring in and testing..

Time to pause for dinner. Then 'eyeball' what I have done. Wire in the Tx2, and test.

If it test's OK, then it can be back in the post to you tomorrow.. :)
 
Choppercook

Choppercook

Registered
29 May 2019
34
8
64
Norfolk
I have 2 Resistors ( light brown with Black rings ) small plastic piece, white wire, heat shrink & sticky back foam. I used Fry's metals soldering paste FLUXITE.
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
23,184
407
Tamworth, Staffs.
Ah, I know Fluxite.. I have some that my Father probably inherited from his Dad..
Round tin ?green? lid, a little like a tobacco tin??

That is not too bad, as it is less corrosive than many of the older fluxes. - You should not need extra flux, if using a modern flux-cored solder.
I will clean it up with Isopropyl..

Give me fifteen minutes, and we will know if we have a working Tx22.. :think:
 
Choppercook

Choppercook

Registered
29 May 2019
34
8
64
Norfolk
Yes the flux is old like I am
 
dunnyrail

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
14,821
347
71
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Happy result by the looks of things thanks to the US Cavalry that always came to the rescue in the nick of time.
 
Choppercook

Choppercook

Registered
29 May 2019
34
8
64
Norfolk
Thats great, Thanks Phil. I can sleep now.
 
Choppercook

Choppercook

Registered
29 May 2019
34
8
64
Norfolk
Hi Phil,I received the TX22, Thanks & it works real good. Just one question will it work with others, like a Spektrum 2.4 receivers & what channel is the throttle on with these RX's AND how much do I owe you for the work you have done. Thanks again, ChopperCook.
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
23,184
407
Tamworth, Staffs.
Hi Phil,I received the TX22, Thanks & it works real good. Just one question will it work with others, like a Spektrum 2.4 receivers & what channel is the throttle on with these RX's AND how much do I owe you for the work you have done. Thanks again, ChopperCook.
I will email you regarding costs..

Working with other DSM receivers:
Yes, and no! ;)

You can control another receiver, but it will respond with the Selecta switch in any of the 12 positions. - 'Selecta' is specific to how David programmes the receivers, so other 'brands' of DSM receiver only understand this signal as 'position channel 2 here'.

Throttle (speed) is on channel 1.

If you do not have a centre-off ESC, then channel 3 is the toggle switch, and you should be able to use this for direction.

Hope that helps?
PhilP.
 
Choppercook

Choppercook

Registered
29 May 2019
34
8
64
Norfolk
Thanks Phil, I will try it on my lgb 20232 loco witk a Spektrum 2.4 receivers & a car esc. You are the man.
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
23,184
407
Tamworth, Staffs.
If it is a 'toy car' ESC, it may be OK..

The 'racing' ESC's tend to be a little 'all or nothing', so not a lot of fine speed control. - The 'Racers' want to go as fast as possible, as quickly as possible! ;):giggle:
 
Choppercook

Choppercook

Registered
29 May 2019
34
8
64
Norfolk
The esc that I will is for a RC Crawler .How much do I owe you for the work you have done