TX compatible with a Planet RX ?

Fred2179G

Fred2179G

Registered
20 Apr 2017
238
7
USA
I recently acquired a small loco with r/c in it, consisting of a Planet 2.4Ghz receiver and a Viper ESC. No problems there, except the seller kept the transmitter for his other locos.

Has anyone had any success binding another TX to this receiver? I have a spare Deltang lying around somewhere and was hoping it will work.
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
23,235
420
Tamworth, Staffs.
I recently acquired a small loco with r/c in it, consisting of a Planet 2.4Ghz receiver and a Viper ESC. No problems there, except the seller kept the transmitter for his other locos.

Has anyone had any success binding another TX to this receiver? I have a spare Deltang lying around somewhere and was hoping it will work.
Hello Fred
Unless a manufacturer says their kit will work with 'X', then no..
By all means try it, but I do not think it will work.

IF you want to keep the Viper, then swapping the Planet Rx for a Rx102 is a guaranteed option.
 
Fred2179G

Fred2179G

Registered
20 Apr 2017
238
7
USA
Unless a manufacturer says their kit will work with 'X', then no..
I've had some success with DSM2 gear, so let's hope this one is the same. I'll know tomorrow, as the PO says they have my parcel.
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
23,235
420
Tamworth, Staffs.
I've had some success with DSM2 gear, so let's hope this one is the same. I'll know tomorrow, as the PO says they have my parcel.
Fred, please come back on this.. I for one would be very interested in your findings. - Would like to know the receiver model as well..

Be aware that the Planet receiver will not know what to do with 'Selecta' data from a Selecta enabled Deltang transmitter. - 'Selecta' is Deltang specific technology.
PhilP.
 
Tony Walsham

Tony Walsham

Manufacturer of RCS Radio Control.
25 Oct 2009
2,112
10
Casino, NSW
As far as I know the Planet Rx cannot be bound to any other brand of 2.4 GHz Tx.
To date DSM2 Rx's made by Deltang, Spektrum, Orange and Lemon are all compatible. There could be others and if there are I too would like to know.
 
ge_rik

ge_rik

British narrow gauge (esp. Southwold and W&LLR)
24 Oct 2009
9,605
147
Cheshire
www.riksrailway.blogspot.com
I concur with what Phil and Tony have said. Your Deltang Tx won't communicate with a Planet Rx - they use different protocols. The easy solution, as Phil suggests, is to buy a Deltang Rx102 and swap it for the Planet Rx. The Rx102 is just 16ukp + postage.

Rik
 
Fred2179G

Fred2179G

Registered
20 Apr 2017
238
7
USA
Thank you all for the responses.

It turned out to be an R4M with "advanced 2.4Ghz" so it obviously isn't DSM2 or any other standard.



I happen to have a loco with a Planet 2.4Ghz radio in it, so I bet this RX will work with it. I also happen to have a Deltang TX20 and an Orange DSM2 rcvr that I know work together, so I will borrow them from my C-19 and try them in the new loco. The owner has already ordered an Orange RX for himself, so he'll get to keep the TX20.
 
Fred2179G

Fred2179G

Registered
20 Apr 2017
238
7
USA
A corollary to my original question for you experts.

I have 2 Planet receivers and 1 transmitter. I found the instructions for binding the RX to a TX (little pushbutton on the side of the RX) but that raises another small question.
If I bind a new RX to the TX, does the old RX forget it is already bound or will the TX talk to whichever RX is turned on at the time. (Clearly I am not planning to have both turned on at once.)
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
23,235
420
Tamworth, Staffs.
A corollary to my original question for you experts.

I have 2 Planet receivers and 1 transmitter. I found the instructions for binding the RX to a TX (little pushbutton on the side of the RX) but that raises another small question.
If I bind a new RX to the TX, does the old RX forget it is already bound or will the TX talk to whichever RX is turned on at the time. (Clearly I am not planning to have both turned on at once.)
Both Rx will be bound to the same transmitter..
As you say, if BOTH receivers are on, then both will respond..
 
Fred2179G

Fred2179G

Registered
20 Apr 2017
238
7
USA
Thanks. and that raises a tantalising question
As you say, if BOTH receivers are on, then both will respond..
of how to take advantage of that!
 
Rhos Helyg Loco Works

Rhos Helyg Loco Works

Registered
Thanks. and that raises a tantalising question of how to take advantage of that!
Well, double-heading is the obvious answer with both locos under the control of one Tx. Several of my locos are set up to do this.
 
Fred2179G

Fred2179G

Registered
20 Apr 2017
238
7
USA
I acquired a Planet R4m 3.5g micro receiver (rx) in a loco, and took it out to use with my Planet T5 transmitter (tx). I read the manual about how to bind the rx to the tx, but it seems the rx is kaput.

On the R4m it has a small pushbutton on the end opposite from the pins. There's a small window halfway down the top, and when I plug in a battery I get a very faint orange glow from an LED on the board. Nothing like the orange bright glow shown on the R6m in the manuals.
Nothing happens when I push the bind button - presumably it is supposed to start blinking, etc.

Any thoughts? Should I assume I have a dead rx?
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
23,235
420
Tamworth, Staffs.
Most Tx and Rx have an onboard regulator chip..
Sounds very much like this one has had its' day..