G Scale Trains, HO Trains, 1:1 Sugar Cane trains
14 Jun 2011
Bundaberg Queensland, Australia
Country
Australia
ringbalin-light-railway.blogspot.com
Best answers
Country flag
I am looking to purchase some extra points for a little bit of an expansion and have a choice available from 2 different suppliers;
One only has these:- 35222 PIKO MANUAL SWITCH LEFT 8’/ 2.4M DIAMETER and 35223 PIKO MANUAL SWITCH RIGHT 8’/2.4 M DIAMETER.
While the other only has these:- LGB - 16040 - MANUAL SWITCH, RIGHT, R3 and LGB - 16140 - MANUAL SWITCH,LEFT , R3
As I have no experience with the PIKO brand I am wondering if there is a great deal of difference between the 2 brands.
Anybody have experience with both brand who can give some guidance for or against?

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
Staff member
GSC Moderator
25 Oct 2009
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Best answers
Country flag

idlemarvel

Neither idle nor a marvel
13 Jul 2015
Ascot
Country
Mars
Best answers
Country flag
I've had PIKO R5 points and LGB R3 points (both roughly 4' radius), they both performed well and completely compatible but the LGB caused more stalls than the PIKO, I think the plastic frog is longer. You can use PIKO and LGB point motors on either of them, but the PIKO point motor is slightly higher and does catch on some LGB locos. Ref post #5 I think I'm right in saying that Modell-land rebrand Train-Line track and points.

8 Mar 2014
San Diego
Country
Armenia
www.elmassian.com
Best answers
Country flag
Sorry, my friend did not do a review on the Piko switch, I guess I was remembering us examining them at a show.

they looked fine in construction as I remember. sorry I am no further help.

Greg

GAP

G Scale Trains, HO Trains, 1:1 Sugar Cane trains
14 Jun 2011
Bundaberg Queensland, Australia
Country
Australia
ringbalin-light-railway.blogspot.com
Best answers
Country flag
The fact that LGB do not do a curved point has changed the situation.