Jayarmin

Registered
20 Sep 2020
Durham uk
Best answers
Country flag
Hi all, Please forgive me as if this question has been asked before but I’m a total Newby to DCC
Do I have to do anything to the points to be able to run Dcc?
i’m talking ,straight out of the box and running Dcc
Do I need to do any Additional wiring or modifications to the points

many thanks

8 Mar 2014
San Diego
Country
Armenia
www.elmassian.com
Best answers
Country flag
In general not to the points. But depending on the design, if you make a "reversing loop" where the outside rail eventually connects to the inside rail in a loop, then you need insulators and a small gadget called an autoreverser.

So, you make these loops with points, thus part of the "myth" of "DCC friendly" points.

Greg

Reactions: 1 user

curtis

Registered
27 Nov 2018
Jersey
Country
Jersey
hsbagardenrailway.com
Best answers
Country flag
Hi all, Please forgive me as if this question has been asked before but I’m a total Newby to DCC

many thanks
The points themselves will work with DC or DCC.

To extend Gregs answers. If you want to control the points with DCC - you essentially need two things:
  1. Point Motor (to throw the points)
  2. Decoder (to tell the point motor to throw the points)
So, if you were to buy these LGB R1 Electric Points, they already come with the point motor so you would need a decoder of some kind. If you have manual points (without a motor) you would need the motor and a decoder.

I use LGB Point Motors (others are available) with MD Electronics decoders. They have 4 models that can control 1point, 2, 4 points or 8. There are many others available too.

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
Staff member
GSC Moderator
25 Oct 2009
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Best answers
Country flag

many thanks