Not a fan of this forum software

Fred2179G

Fred2179G

Registered
20 Apr 2017
238
7
USA
I just tried to upload a picture to a new thread, and I have to say it was a painful process. And I hate the HUGE ad banners all over the top of my pages - is there no way to get rid of them? They are much bigger and more intrusive than on other forums I frequent. There are 7 huge banners right across this forum page. Yuk as the saying goes.

The "Add Media" button didn't do anything the first couple of times I pushed it. It wouldn't let me select an Album. When I went to my album and then did the 'add' it sorta worked. But the first attempt should have had a prompt saying 'you can't do that at the top media menu'. If that was the problem.

Then the 'add media' dialogue offered to let me drop an image, so I did. It showed up so I said "Post Thread" and nothing happened. Lots of moving green bits at the top, but no post. And no prompt saying 'you screwed up'. So I used the upload link and it said 'This content must have at least 2 tag(s)" Huh? Who says? And why is it mandatory?

I tried to delete it as the filename was screwy, and I got asked for 'reason for deletion'. Non of your business! Fortunately it wasn't mandatory.

Then I tried to add a sentence (7 huge banners. . . YUK.) and hit the Save button and there were lots of green action at the top but nothing happened - it stayed on this page. So I hit SAve again and it worked that time. How annoying.

I am not impressed. It is way too complicated and slow.
 
voodoopenguin

voodoopenguin

Registered
20 Jul 2015
670
228
67
Blofield, Norfolk
I wonder why you are getting several HUGE banners as this is what I get.

125199_d9e982743e189911f08bfd92c12fe066.jpg


One smallish advert which can be removed by clicking on the X top right of the ad box.

What do others get?

Paul
 
P

Paul M

Registered
25 Oct 2016
3,054
204
56
Royston
At the moment my banner advertising is a line of young ladies in their underwear, so I'm not complaining! But I think you can get rid of the adverts by paying a fee. Don't forget the adverts pay for this extremely useful and entertaining forum though
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
23,199
410
Tamworth, Staffs.
When the 'green' left to right movement id happening.. The Software is loading/waiting/transferring something.. You may have a slow connection? You may be loading a huge file? The ocean currents may be against the flow of data form the UK to the US?

There is 'something' going on today.. Could be updates.. Could be Americans wanting the latest Trump/Royal photo's..
But my machine has been dog-slow today. :(
 
  • Like
Reactions: mike
Fred2179G

Fred2179G

Registered
20 Apr 2017
238
7
USA
Here's what I see. Right now it's 6 big banners.

125203_9548318bba311c47861424fd712159e1.jpg


I am using Firefox, so I did try it on MS Edge and got the same big banners - though not so many and not for many things that I had been searching the web for (like the DPTT switches, or glass table tops) as I don't use Edge.
 
Last edited:
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
23,199
410
Tamworth, Staffs.
I only get three (in a scroll from top to bottom) but I have less threads listed. - I think it adds an ad. every so-many thread titles?

Perhaps also due to your screen resolution and the software may not like your choice of browser? - I HAD to change to Chrome on Windows 7.. Internet Exploder had become too slow with this iteration of software.
 
trammayo

trammayo

Interested in vintage commercial vehicle, trams, t
24 Oct 2009
20,616
367
70
Co. Mayo
I don't get any advertising - I paid a low, nominal fee to not receive them and thought it was very worthwhile!
 
P

Paradise

Registered
28 Jan 2010
657
58
If you don't want to be pestered by the IT marketing natives, you can pay the chief a bribe and they'll go away. :giggle:
The 'Insert > Media' is for things like YouTube videos etc. Alas, they have ads too. :)
Try the 'Insert Image' button. Make your file explorer a smaller window on top of the forum then drag and drop the image file to the grey box.
The two 'Attribute' fields can be left blank when adding an image although the 'Alt Attribute' may be used by search engines and specialized hardware so they know specifically what the image is. 'Alt Title' may be displayed with the image but depends on the web page the image is displayed on.
Active hyperlinks to other sites need to be done via the 'Insert Link' button otherwise it displayed as is inactive text.

The 'Insert Image' should have an option to select a local file via a pop-up window to navigate the users folders to select it. 'Upload Image' is probably intended to do just that but does not work for me.
Arranging two windows to drag and drop a local file is very awkward.
I think a hyperlink should be made active automatically by the forum software. A dead one is a bother to go to. The down side is that it gets converted to the page title so a URL would then be impossible to convey.
 
Last edited:
Administrator

Administrator

Administrator
Staff member
GSC Moderator
The 'Insert Image' should have an option to select a local file via a pop-up window to navigate the users folders to select it. 'Upload Image' is probably intended to do just that but does not work for me.
It should work,just click where it says "or click here" and a file dialogue box opens where you can select an image from.

Paul
 
  • Like
Reactions: mike
P

Paradise

Registered
28 Jan 2010
657
58
It should work,just click where it says "or click here" and a file dialogue box opens where you can select an image from.
Paul
So it does! :clap: I don't always read the road signs either. Too busy looking at the cows in the paddock. :tmi:
Thanks chief! :)
 
Fred2179G

Fred2179G

Registered
20 Apr 2017
238
7
USA
Hear hear... no one is getting rich running this forum, and certainly managing a forum is almost never a fun job, especially with threads with this title.

I pay the extra and gladly.

Greg
OK. So I just looked under every heading at the top of the page and I do not see any "pay here and get rid of ads". Would you enlighten me as to its whereabouts?
 
P

Paradise

Registered
28 Jan 2010
657
58
It is actually hard to find! I found it then lost it then found it again. :think:
Click on your 'Avatar' up the top right hand corner left of the messages and bell to get to Account Details then click: Account Upgrades > Purchase
Off to PayPal you go...

Oh dear, Mine is nearly expired! :eek:
 
Last edited:
Greg Elmassian

Greg Elmassian

Registered
8 Mar 2014
2,790
154
San Diego
www.elmassian.com
I'm good to 2020... actually, most sites now have something in the upper right corner like the avatar, or "account" or your name. (This is how Google does it, probably the best known site world wide)

Then "account details" is pretty darn straightforward in my mind.

Anyway, pay up Fred ha ha!
 
Rhinochugger

Rhinochugger

Retired Oik
27 Oct 2009
24,991
480
North West Norfolk
I'm good to 2020... actually, most sites now have something in the upper right corner like the avatar, or "account" or your name. (This is how Google does it, probably the best known site world wide)

Then "account details" is pretty darn straightforward in my mind.

Anyway, pay up Fred ha ha!
I have found a little trick ;););)

For a little while now, I have been more or less exclusively using the 'What's New' option on the top menu bar.

Today I needed to use the 'Forums' option, and found that you get far less advert banners on the 'What's New' listing.

Now, it may well be that it's simply because the listing is shorter - whatever :emo::emo: - seeing as how you can do probably a little more than 90% of your daily business on the What's New option, that eradicates a lot of unnecessary adverts without prizing open the wallet >:)>:)>:)
 
P

Paradise

Registered
28 Jan 2010
657
58
I'm good to 2020... actually, most sites now have something in the upper right corner like the avatar, or "account" or your name. (This is how Google does it, probably the best known site world wide)
Then "account details" is pretty darn straightforward in my mind.
Anyway, pay up Fred ha ha!
The option of being able to upgrade to an ad free site is not obvious to a casual user who comes to view the site's content and probably has no reason to drill through the subscribed account page if they even have one.
The issue of people not being able to find where to upgrade to an ad free site has come up several times before. There are several ways to get there too which can confuse matters for the 'rat' brain which utilizes steps of familiarity.
It's the equivalent of first not knowing about a preferable service and then when told about it the checkout is nowhere in plain view. I think it would be in the site's interest if the 'Ad Free Upgrade' option was somewhere in plain view. Nothing is easy for the uninitiated. Google's site navigation has has nothing to do with it either. :nerd:
 
Fred2179G

Fred2179G

Registered
20 Apr 2017
238
7
USA
I think it would be in the site's interest if the 'Ad Free Upgrade' option was somewhere in plain view. Nothing is easy for the uninitiated.
Maybe the site makes more money from ads than from us?

Anyway, I realised as I looked at this thread through the 'weekly active topics' list that the only ads I saw were the ones I posted in my complaints! So I am ad-free for now.
I still think that this website software could use some common sense and de-complication :mad::(