New to battery power and RC

Choppercook

Registered
29 May 2019
81
3
65
Norfolk
Reading your subsequent posts and things you are doing it would appear that the loco is a MTS fitted one? If so were you aware that you could have fitted battery DDC to it? This is much easier for such a loco as all you need to do is cut the track wire, insert the DCV Battery Board fit batteries and you are good to go. All functions will work as before. The wire from the track and pickups are now redundant and are better removed. Possibly more expensive than a Deltang installation, but oh so much easier. The Deltang that you have purchased would be then better installed in a non TS/DCC loco if you have one.
I converted LGB to battery with just a RC car TX and RX with a LIPO 11.1v battery and works just fine with sound, lights and smoke
 

Attachments

  • 20232.jpg
    20232.jpg
    14.7 KB · Views: 0

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
19,105
3,866
72
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
I converted LGB to battery with just a RC car TX and RX with a LIPO 11.1v battery and works just fine with sound, lights and smoke
That will work just fine with a Loco that has a generic sound, but if you want to be able to control whistles and other sounds on a loco that has a DCC Chip yuen you need a DCC Rx.
 

Choppercook

Registered
29 May 2019
81
3
65
Norfolk
may be but my LGB, the whistle and are are triggered my magnets on the track but the chuf sound runs with the throttle
 

JimmyB

Semi-Retired; more time for trains.
All my battery conversion so far are 11.1 volt LiPo 3s, deltang Rx/Ta and 3 or 4 sounds controlled by the Tx.
 

Choppercook

Registered
29 May 2019
81
3
65
Norfolk
yes you can add a my loco sound card but why when the LGB have it built in ?

 

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
19,105
3,866
72
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
yes you can add a my loco sound card but why when the LGB have it built in ?

Not all LGB have sound built in and it can be cheeper to add a MLS rather than fork out for an LGB DCC box or Sound Board or DCC Sound Chip the only ways these days other than built in that you can retro fit.
 

Choppercook

Registered
29 May 2019
81
3
65
Norfolk
OK, I bought a lgb loco of ebay as my first train and it works great L G B 2023p-1, a 2-4-0
 

Greg Elmassian

Registered
8 Mar 2014
4,841
698
San Diego
www.elmassian.com
I'm following this thread with interest, with the many ways to do this.

If this was a DCC loco already, the way to run battery DCC (like the DCC revolution) would be the cleanest, cut the wires from the track to the decoder, insert the DCC converter module, you are done, everything works as before.

Jon: is DDC your term for the DCC receiver/booster, like the AirWire CONVRTR? Just wanting to be sure of your terms.

Greg
 

Greg Elmassian

Registered
8 Mar 2014
4,841
698
San Diego
www.elmassian.com
may seem that way, but simpler than your conversion, no changes to lights, speaker, motor connections, etc.

basically battery to this gadget, gadget connects to track pickup wires... could do it faster than it took to type this.

Remember the basis was that the loco was already DCC.

Greg
 

Greg Elmassian

Registered
8 Mar 2014
4,841
698
San Diego
www.elmassian.com
I still maintain you did more work, my comments are based on the amount of work for the original poster, the thread topic.

Like I said, 4 connections to convert a DCC loco this way, no separate wiring for lights, etc.

Clearly you did many more connections for the motor, lights, sound.... way more.

This is one of the cases where you convert a DCC loco to wireless very easily.

Greg
 

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
27,713
2,864
Tamworth, Staffs.
Greg,
I agree the mechanics of the convertion are very simple.
But it may well be the owner of the loco presently runs an analogue track.

If they do not know their way around DCC, and have to work with the machinations of a wireless system on top of that..
The wireless systems also can add an additional layer of complexity to the changing of CV's (if it is possible at all?).

This may all be a step too far, for some?

PhilP
 

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
19,105
3,866
72
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Greg,
I agree the mechanics of the convertion are very simple.
But it may well be the owner of the loco presently runs an analogue track.

If they do not know their way around DCC, and have to work with the machinations of a wireless system on top of that..
The wireless systems also can add an additional layer of complexity to the changing of CV's (if it is possible at all?).

This may all be a step too far, for some?

PhilP
If one needs to make provision for post fit change of Cv’s, yes it could be an issue. But I have found it to be less so mostly. Some of my Locomotives have a socket that I can connect with a plug using a DPDTCO to switch between Battery and the Plug that emulates Track Power. I can then update the chip. This I found to be easier and kinder on the batteries than keeping all the parafanalia of track power.

Note I have corrected a couple of typos in one of my earlier posts I refered to DDC and DVC when I meant DCC of course.
 

JimmyB

Semi-Retired; more time for trains.
I still maintain you did more work, my comments are based on the amount of work for the original poster, the thread topic.

Like I said, 4 connections to convert a DCC loco this way, no separate wiring for lights, etc.

Clearly you did many more connections for the motor, lights, sound.... way more.

This is one of the cases where you convert a DCC loco to wireless very easily.

Greg
Surely only true for DCC ready, two of the locos didn't even have 4 pin motor connections, and the whine from the early Stainz sound card was painful.
 

Paul M

Registered
25 Oct 2016
6,328
1,051
57
Royston
Note I have corrected a couple of typos in one of my earlier posts I refered to DDC and DVC when I meant DCC of course.
Thank heavens for that, DCC confuses me, having more of similar what just about finish me off
 

Greg Elmassian

Registered
8 Mar 2014
4,841
698
San Diego
www.elmassian.com
Yes, for this particular example, I have been very clear, the Jon's suggestion would be very simple, and the DCC version of the Revolution looks identical to the regular version, actually in some ways it is even easier to control.

Again, the suggestion was for a loco that is already DCC, this is a simple, painless conversion, and you retain all the features of the DCC sound card.

Greg