MFX and other digital systems

duncan1_9_8_4

Jack of all trades on the Railway
25 Oct 2009
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Best answers
Country flag
Is the new MFX system by LGB compatible with Massoth and indeed MTS. For example fin bought a loco with an MFX decoder can I just run it on my dad's Massoth and my MTS?

ntpntpntp

Registered
24 Oct 2009
UK
Country
United-Kingdom
Best answers
Country flag
MFX itself isn't compatible with DCC, but the decoders being fitted by Marklin recognise both protocols.

I have no direct experience, but people have reported a few "niggles" with the new decoders on DCC, with work-arounds such as make sure you run the loco on DCC default address 3 when you first receive it *before* attempting any programming. It seems to "set up" the decoder to expect DCC.

With older MTS you may find you can't get to all the functions supported by the decoder.

duncan1_9_8_4

25 Oct 2009
Best answers
Country flag
Cheers. Don't think no will be buying any LGB models with MFX decoders then, hope it does not segregate the hobby even more. That was the joy of garden railways having meets etc and running others locos.

idlemarvel

Neither idle nor a marvel
13 Jul 2015
Ascot
Country
Mars
Best answers
Country flag
I don't think it is as black as all that. In some ways it's a pity Maerklin are going their own way but I suppose if they want to innovate they have to go beyond the standard. Plus they have their huge HO customer base to think of (huge compared to their LGB business). Some of the features in MFX look quite nifty, but as long as they provide a DCC option I'll be happy. I have a Lenz command station and at least one Maerklin (Trix) decoder that came prefitted in an LGB V100 and they work quite happily together.

Neil Robinson

Registered
24 Oct 2009
N W Leicestershire
Best answers
Country flag