LGB Krokodile

B

Barbara

Registered
14 Oct 2019
6
1
64
Sussex
Hi Everyone, I have been running my new purchases in DC. Has anybody converted the LGB Krokodile with a Massoth sound XLSDecoder if so Could you let me have a wiring Diagram. Is there anything that i have to do to the Electric motors?? any extra soldering for the contacts and so on. Thanking You in advance.
Barbara.
PS Massoth have been very helpful
 
dunnyrail

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
15,245
560
71
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Would be helpful if you could declare the vintage of your Crok. Some will be easier than others to convert. A picture of the underneath would be very helpful if you can post one as that is where LGB puts Model Type and various other stickers.
 
B

Barbara

Registered
14 Oct 2019
6
1
64
Sussex
Would be helpful if you could declare the vintage of your Crok. Some will be easier than others to convert. A picture of the underneath would be very helpful if you can post one as that is where LGB puts Model Type and various other stickers.
Hi Thank you for your Quick reply, The Model number on the box is (20400 ) I have locked up the loft at the moment so cannot take a pic of the underside .Thank You Barbara
 
dunnyrail

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
15,245
560
71
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Most helpful, good news no Motor revisions required. The model will show one or the other of these Circles underneath:-
135935_00bba6f0395e6c9d787c86ae58a98e67.jpeg
The Pins in the left show that a Plugged Decoder Fitting (to Pins on the Circuit Board) would be required, this can be done with Fittings like below and wired directly into the Screw Fittings of a Massoth Decoder:-
135936_69a38d4327c9f1005e15c6fcb13bfdf9.jpeg

If it is like the circle on the right you can use similar Fittings but would need to remove the 4 way Plug on each Bogie. The small plugs will fit into the Bogie Pins though may need a small pinch with some pliers.

Note that in each case 8 wires will be required from the Decoder, 4 to each Bogie. It pays to follow standard Colouring Conventions Brown and White to Track (making sure that both wires from the Decoder go to the same Rail). Green and Yellow to the Motors, note that one set of these may be reversed to ensure that both Bogies go the same way. If you are unsure about the Pins revealed when you take out the 4 pin plug on the Bogie a small Meter can be used from the wheel to check out which pin is which.
 
B

Barbara

Registered
14 Oct 2019
6
1
64
Sussex
Hi JonD Thank You for your quick reply, The information you have given me is a lot to take in at the moment mainly because i cannot get at the Krokodile till later to have a look underneath.The other problem i have to resolve is the Traction tyres they were perished and they were only still visible on one wheel but the Lok still ran very happily without it. So many Questions to ask but i will do it Slowly, Grey Matter and all that. Thank you once again Barbara
Ps I should ave read your reply more carefully. RTFQ = 1/2TBA
 
Last edited:
lgbmad

lgbmad

Model trains....G scale mainly, but enjoy all othe
20 Oct 2011
1,085
3
Llanfyllin,Powys
Good evening all
Now this thread is right up my street just now. May I ask.......I also have a croc that needs a chip inserting. My croc has sound, how, if at all would this effect inserting a chip, and would I be able to control the sound features via my hand set, or would it remain automatic as if in DC.
Have a great evening all
Kev
 
Software Tools

Software Tools

Registered
18 Jan 2013
19
3
Sydney, Australia
The Model number on the box is (20400 ).
That is good news.

The 5 figure part number means that it almost certainly has the internal wiring to the motor units set up for DCC (MTS), which will make fitting the Massoth decoder for traction control purposes much easier.

Sorry, I can't comment on the sound control aspects.
 
idlemarvel

idlemarvel

Registered
13 Jul 2015
1,799
156
Ascot
Good evening all
Now this thread is right up my street just now. May I ask.......I also have a croc that needs a chip inserting. My croc has sound, how, if at all would this effect inserting a chip, and would I be able to control the sound features via my hand set, or would it remain automatic as if in DC.
Have a great evening all
Kev
Hi Kev, what model number is the Krok? Will help us understand if the sound is factory fitted or added by a previous owner (if not you!). You have DCC handset I assume from your question?
 
lgbmad

lgbmad

Model trains....G scale mainly, but enjoy all othe
20 Oct 2011
1,085
3
Llanfyllin,Powys
Hi Kev, what model number is the Krok? Will help us understand if the sound is factory fitted or added by a previous owner (if not you!). You have DCC handset I assume from your question?
Good morning
Just like Barbara my set is in the loft but I will nip up later for a look. My croc has factory fitted sound and is part of the set with 2 x Pullman coaches. The croc will be used with a Massoth 1200z.
Kev
 
idlemarvel

idlemarvel

Registered
13 Jul 2015
1,799
156
Ascot
Hi Kev,
If it something like the LGB 23402 with sound fitted, then the sounds work with MTS like this:
(from instruction sheet http://www.gbdb.info/data/manual/LGB/23402.pdf
"When operating with the Multi-Train System, you can control the loco’s functions remotely. Press the lighting button (“9” with remotes) to turn the loco lights on or off. Press the function buttons to control the following functions: 1: Whistle 2: Brake sound 3: Whistle with echo 4: Train departure announcement, with Swiss dialect: "Treten Sie bitte zurück, die Türen gehen zu. Achtung, der Zug fährt ab." (Please step back, the doors are closing. Attention, the train is departing.) 5: Air pump 6: Off/on for sounds of main switch, air pump, vacuum pump and main fan. 7: Pantograph sound 8: Sound off/on"
 
lgbmad

lgbmad

Model trains....G scale mainly, but enjoy all othe
20 Oct 2011
1,085
3
Llanfyllin,Powys
Thank you for the info...it's looking good for a chip upgrade.
Kev
 
P

phils2um

Phil S
11 Sep 2015
371
155
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Thank you for the info...it's looking good for a chip upgrade
Hi Kev,

I'm curious why you would want to change out the MTS decoder. You do realize it is fully compatible with the Massoth system? You may be needlessly spending quite a chunk of change for the new sound decoder. The only thing to be aware of with the existing decoder is to unplug the sound card when you do the programming if you want to change the DCC address from the default address of 3. At least that is what I had to do to change the address of my blue MTS chipped Crok. Its DCC address is now its road number, 412.
 
lgbmad

lgbmad

Model trains....G scale mainly, but enjoy all othe
20 Oct 2011
1,085
3
Llanfyllin,Powys
Morning Phil........this loco is analogue and as of yet has not been fitted with a chip...Hence the interest in this thread.
Kev:)