Help with a live steam shay

dger22a

Registered
12 Feb 2017
Hereford
Best answers
Hi
got hold of a steamlines shay, propane with remote control. Did it ever have the ability to go in reverse also do you know any body who has any info

Many thanks john a complete newbieWP_20170314_18_13_54_Pro.jpg WP_20170314_18_14_09_Pro.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Rhinochugger

Retired Oik
27 Oct 2009
North West Norfolk
Best answers
Country flag
I had never come across the make - but there is some Google info, particularly reference to using R/C. This clearly indicates that it is capable of going in both directions, but I haven't yet found any reference of how to do that manually.

GAP

G Scale Trains, HO Trains, 1:1 Sugar Cane trains
14 Jun 2011
Bundaberg Queensland, Australia
Country
Australia
ringbalin-light-railway.blogspot.com
Best answers
Country flag

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
Staff member
GSC Moderator
25 Oct 2009
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Best answers
Country flag
Not sure if you saw this reply on a thread about Concrete Mixers where you declared your Shay purchase.

Hi
goty hold of a steamlines shay, propane with reote control did it ever have the ability to go in reverse also do you know any body who has any info

Many thanks john a complete newbie
wp_20170314_18_13_54_pro-jpg.220730
wp_20170314_18_14_09_pro-jpg.220731

Hi I had one many moons ago, sold it on but yes it does do reverse. If I remember correct the Osmotor (the Piston Geary thing on the other side to your pics) has a lever on it which effects reverse. Think it may also have been the regulator as well, but that may be in the Cab possibly just seen in Pic 2.

Vertical cylinder on the side with a screw low down is the Oil Reservoir. Undo this to let the remaining water out, undo top to fill with Steam Oil. Only use proper Steam Oil.