Conversion to radio control

F

Fairlie

Registered
22 Jun 2011
355
0
Shropshire
Because of knee problems (I am in my eighties), I can no longer get down clean the track on my railway, so it has remained unused for several years. I would like to convert at least one loco to radio control so I can run a train again. The likeliest candidate is my Bachmann "Lyn". My idea is to house a battery and the radio gear in a coach. I imagine this has been done, but I need advice, and suggestions as to what to buy. There is a fairly sharp gradient, so I imagine I would need something giving close to full voltage (presumably 18-20v.)
HELP!
 
Madman

Madman

Registered
25 Oct 2009
12,965
115
Pennsylvania, USA
For me, the solution was to use components made by G Scale Graphics. Rather than go into more detail on my own, I'll let his website give you all of the information. By the way, Del Tapparo is second to none when it comes to technical support.

G-Scale Graphics
 
BakerJohn

BakerJohn

Baker, Modeler, Flour Ambassador
I'm using RC Trains components for my rewiring. I doubt Phil will toot his own horn, as it were, so Ill do it for him. My first set of parts from him should be here tomorrow and Im very excited to get my Forney wired up!
 
  • Like
Reactions: JeffofSpace
Martino

Martino

Kit bashing, The UK narrow gauge, The GWR, Aviatio
I had my Bachmann Lyn converted to battery and r/c. It was done here in the US and we used AirWire which isn’t available in the UK, however I think the principal is the same. The loco was already DCC and sound using a Zimo decoder, so the AirWire was able to use this. The battery fits nicely in the cab, allowing driver/fireman figures to remain, although cut off at the waist!

It didn’t require a following truck for the battery, everything fits nicely in the loco.
 
P

Paul M

Registered
25 Oct 2016
2,871
148
56
Royston
Teresa so an example of how to do this on the Internet, just type in Bachmann Lynn radio control, unfortunately it looks quite complicated though
 
JeffofSpace

JeffofSpace

Registered
19 Jul 2018
75
0
42
Seattle
I'm using RC Trains components for my rewiring. I doubt Phil will toot his own horn, as it were, so Ill do it for him. My first set of parts from him should be here tomorrow and Im very excited to get my Forney wired up!
Yep, this is my plan too. Super straightforward and fewer components. I’ll just bypass the dcc board altogether.
 
  • Like
Reactions: BakerJohn
dunnyrail

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
14,638
263
71
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Because of knee problems (I am in my eighties), I can no longer get down clean the track on my railway, so it has remained unused for several years. I would like to convert at least one loco to radio control so I can run a train again. The likeliest candidate is my Bachmann "Lyn". My idea is to house a battery and the radio gear in a coach. I imagine this has been done, but I need advice, and suggestions as to what to buy. There is a fairly sharp gradient, so I imagine I would need something giving close to full voltage (presumably 18-20v.)
HELP!
Look at some of my threads on the Battery Power.

My smallst have been an LGB 0-4-0 and a Essell Steam Tram both with Fosworks Gear and all on board the Locomotive. Battery Coaches are ok if you want to convert just more than 1 Loco. Full power not essential, most will run quite happily on 12 Volts at the Battery source.

I find the best thing to do is work out what sort of Battery you will be able to fit in, tape up 8-10 AA cells the fit them in the body to see if it works for fit. Do not forget that you can have made up sets of 4-5 in two groups to fit linked. Mail a Picture to Steve then chat about what else you will need. Very helpful guy. Costs depending in what you need with perhaps a Smart Charger as well will bea lot more than £100.

Fosworks Product List
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
22,951
334
Tamworth, Staffs.
If you can put the weight (batteries) in the loco, then do so.. - Aids traction.

Are we talking an older 'Lyn', or one of the newer models? - It will make a great difference to how easy the conversion will be.
 
F

Fairlie

Registered
22 Jun 2011
355
0
Shropshire
Thanks for the replies. "Lyn" was bought new about seven years ago, so would it be the new model?
 
Greg Elmassian

Greg Elmassian

Registered
8 Mar 2014
2,727
136
San Diego
www.elmassian.com
Somewhat tangential, but the Fosworks transmitters seem to have 6 functions max, but on the site he references DCC functions 1-12 or 12 total, not sure which.

Is there a shift button somewhere on the transmitter to go above 6 functions?

Greg
 
dunnyrail

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
14,638
263
71
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Somewhat tangential, but the Fosworks transmitters seem to have 6 functions max, but on the site he references DCC functions 1-12 or 12 total, not sure which.

Is there a shift button somewhere on the transmitter to go above 6 functions?

Greg
Greg I think you may be a little confused. Not sure where you get the 12 functions from?
EDIT appologies Greg, have just read Steve’s comments on another thread, looks like he may have updated the Handset as I intimated below.. Have asked him to clarify, things move fast in the world of Battery Power! End of EDIT.

Fosworks DCC currently has access to 6 functions via 3 buttons on Top of the DCC Handset (Omni 4) and a Shift Button at the side. This may change in the future but not sure. Omni 4 with 6 functions is the setup that I reviewed.

For ordinary non DCC Radio (Omni 2 or 3) setup using say a My Loco Sound Card the 3 buttons only can control a selection of the varying sound options. Hope that makes things clear.

On both types of Handset the Re Button Top Right is the Power On/Off button.
 
Last edited:
F

Fairlie

Registered
22 Jun 2011
355
0
Shropshire
I've just taken the body off my "Lyn" (straightforward track-powered, no DCC) with a view to seeing what's involved in a conversion to radio, and there is an electronics card mounted on top of the motor block. What does this do?
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
22,951
334
Tamworth, Staffs.
A picture would help..
Is it one of these?

Bachmann 'Lyn' PCB

A little bit of electronics for regulating supply for lights etc.
Red's and Black's are track pickup.
Orange and Grey are motor.
Violet and Black, Blue and Black are to do with a speaker. - Which may well already be fitted. :)

The two multi-way connectors go to the switches in the smokebox.
 
F

Fairlie

Registered
22 Jun 2011
355
0
Shropshire
Yes, that's it exactly.
Thank you.
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
22,951
334
Tamworth, Staffs.
Yes, that's it exactly.
Thank you.
Just double-check my (from memory) naming of the purple/black and blue/black leads with what is in the paperwork.. - That is, if you intend to use those connections.
PhilP.
 
F

Fairlie

Registered
22 Jun 2011
355
0
Shropshire
I haven't a clue where the paperwork is, but it's OK, I shall just disconnect all the track pick-up wires (red & black), and connect in the power feed from the receiver there, leaving everything else as it is. I imagine that would be OK?
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
22,951
334
Tamworth, Staffs.
I haven't a clue where the paperwork is, but it's OK, I shall just disconnect all the track pick-up wires (red & black), and connect in the power feed from the receiver there, leaving everything else as it is. I imagine that would be OK?
Yep, that should work..
Obviously, the pickup connections are all 'commoned' on the board, so you only need to connect-in once..
 
T

Timbo

Registered
12 Apr 2016
35
0
65
Philippines
All my locos are RC by means of Deltang receivers and a transmitter that works with all the locos. Very effective. All items purchased from RC Trains. Battery power is provided by Lithium Polymer (LiPo) batteries and associated smart charger. The receivers can control lights and trigger a sound card.
I hope this helps.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JeffofSpace