Spa Bahn

The Shed

Registered
So you're probably at 1,120 cu ft - but what do you want to do with them all ? :worried::worried::worried::worried:
I'd fill each cu ft with chocolate! :) But in this day and age guess, some would store Toilet Rolls!!!!

Still, filling a large shed, should not be a problem FOR anyone with a Garden Railway! ;)
 
Last edited:
  • Wow
Reactions: 1 user

FrenchChuffed

Registered
27 Mar 2016
229
98
Droitwich Spa
I had a much larger Shed when i lived in France just 10 x 12 but that was meters not feet, they work in meters over there you know...
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 users

FrenchChuffed

Registered
27 Mar 2016
229
98
Droitwich Spa
Not much has been Happening on the Spa Bahn this winter this was a few days after the main snow fall when you could see a few parts of the track. A snow Plough definately needed for next year
DSCF4288.JPG
 

FrenchChuffed

Registered
27 Mar 2016
229
98
Droitwich Spa
Allso great excitment on the shed a new loco has arrived in excelent condition to be twined with the existing No 2 to run in tandem. DSCF1424.JPG
 

Rhinochugger

Retired Oik
27 Oct 2009
29,191
3,505
North West Norfolk

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
18,636
3,804
72
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
I have not seen a picture of a proper Duplex as they were called in Bosnia, but they back to backed two Stainz like locomotives just as you have done and called them class 173. The cab rear was hacked off. They were allegedly not very powerful and after a few years were singled and used as shunting locomotives. Be a good idea if you can to think about wiring them up as that will make the running much better with less stuttering on dirty track. With a little messing about you should be able to use the rear plugs with LGB fittings.
 

Rhinochugger

Retired Oik
27 Oct 2009
29,191
3,505
North West Norfolk
I have not seen a picture of a proper Duplex as they were called in Bosnia, but they back to backed two Stainz like locomotives just as you have done and called them class 173. The cab rear was hacked off. They were allegedly not very powerful and after a few years were singled and used as shunting locomotives. Be a good idea if you can to think about wiring them up as that will make the running much better with less stuttering on dirty track. With a little messing about you should be able to use the rear plugs with LGB fittings.
I was gonna suggest the loco roster number 22 :D :D :D
 

AustrianNG

Director of my railway
16 Sep 2015
1,105
1,541
Wirral
I wired these two up using the rear cab power sockets for smooth running over dirty track and points.
Stainz numbers 3 and 4 are linked via wiring that is drilled into the chassis and linked up above the coupling with a mini plug.

IMG_3644 (2).JPG IMG_6143.JPG
 

FrenchChuffed

Registered
27 Mar 2016
229
98
Droitwich Spa
I always love your atmospheric smoke... do you run DC or Digital? I was thinking of trying to install masoth decoders inthem and pair them together. I need to get my Z800 unit back to Massoth though for them to fix it when the hopefully initial EU difficulties are over.
 

AustrianNG

Director of my railway
16 Sep 2015
1,105
1,541
Wirral
I always love your atmospheric smoke... do you run DC or Digital? I was thinking of trying to install masoth decoders inthem and pair them together. I need to get my Z800 unit back to Massoth though for them to fix it when the hopefully initial EU difficulties are over.

I run digital Peter. Means that the locos smoke all the time weather stopped or
Moving. Also some of my locos smoke units are directly wired to track power so not even the need to press “1” on the remote.

DA6E6AE3-85B6-4134-AA1F-12BB42D769F8.jpeg
 

Rhinochugger

Retired Oik
27 Oct 2009
29,191
3,505
North West Norfolk
I wired these two up using the rear cab power sockets for smooth running over dirty track and points.
Stainz numbers 3 and 4 are linked via wiring that is drilled into the chassis and linked up above the coupling with a mini plug.

View attachment 278962 View attachment 278963
That's partly why I like the Bachmann 2-8-0s with tender pickups. It wasn't until Neil (Riograndad) came round and we tried out his Sumpter Mallet that I realised I had a long dead spot on a #6 large radius point :eek::eek:
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 user

FrenchChuffed

Registered
27 Mar 2016
229
98
Droitwich Spa
So the question is what decoder’s do i put in the stainz to run them in tandem, would 2x eMotion M do the job? And are they relatively easily fitted?
 

Gizzy

A gentleman, a scholar, and a railway modeller....
26 Oct 2009
33,886
1,698
60
Cambridgeshire
www.gscalecentral.net
So the question is what decoder’s do i put in the stainz to run them in tandem, would 2x eMotion M do the job? And are they relatively easily fitted?
I fitted the LGB 55021 version of the Massoth decoder to my Stainz. Tricky to get apart but I'm sure there'll be someone here who can explain how to do so....