Realistic Sound for a Bachmann 3 Truck Shay

GAP

GAP

G Scale trains, Lawn Bowls.
14 Jun 2011
2,427
631
64
Bomaderry, New South Wales, Australia
I am after a sound card to install in my Bachmann 55Ton 3 Truck Shay that will run off the motor voltage/signal .

Any suggestions?
 
tac foley

tac foley

Registered
11 Apr 2017
1,412
669
72
Near Huntingdon, UK
...only in UK.

tac
 
ntpntpntp

ntpntpntp

Registered
24 Oct 2009
7,196
264
56
UK
Got a QSI Quantum in mine, works well. I forget which sound file, but there are loads of adjustments possible - made easier if you have the QSI programmer.
 
tac foley

tac foley

Registered
11 Apr 2017
1,412
669
72
Near Huntingdon, UK
I guess you are running it on DCC?

We either have battery or steam, no track power.

tac
OVGRS
 
tac foley

tac foley

Registered
11 Apr 2017
1,412
669
72
Near Huntingdon, UK
I really need to get a grip of modern technology here, Greg. Problem is that there is nobody over here to talk to to make it easy on a body. The only people I know assume that you already know everything about all this, and that just ain't so. Plus there is the not small matter of the cost of the stuff - hitting around £400 per loco, and I STILL have quite a few sparkies - three Shays, a Climax, a Heisler, a Connie, two Annies, three SD45s, two FA/B sets. a handful of LGB.......the two Baguley-Drewrys have Peter Spoerer's systems fitted, and the RH Harlech Castle has theirs.

The only 'fitted' Aristo loco is a Dash 9 with QSI system on track power, using the little hand-held panel - if I'm running that, I have to hook that up to the track to control it - and nothing else can run that uses track power on a 400 foot track...

Ho hum...

tac
 
M

Moonraker

Registered
25 Oct 2009
860
82
South Australia
Personally I'm very happy with the mylocosound chip. The important thing with a Shay is that it should be chuffing like mad at a low speed.

Love the video Chris.

MyLocoSound at £49 or A$89 will give the correct Shay sounds. Using a TV remote control, the chuff is adjustable to match the loco and is synchronised to the motor voltage and load. There is a good video of MyLocoSound in a Bachmann two truck Shay at
. The radio control used by Peter Spoerer is virtually identical to that used by Tony Walsham at RCS. Tony also sells lots of MyLocoSound, for both radio control and track power, and can give you good advice. MyLocoSound is not compatible with DCC.

The MyLocoSound whistle is adjustable in style, pitch and volume. You can trigger it, plus the bell, safety valve and "All aboard", manually using transmitter buttons on radio control.

On track power, the normal choice is to use the automatic sound modes. This causes the Westinghouse brake pump to sound automatically each time the loco is stationary. It also causes the bell to ring when the loco is moving below a user selected speed or when triggered by magnets under the track. The whistle can also be triggered by track magnets or by the remote control. It conforms to US whistle codes when starting and stopping and can sound the grade crossing sequence when triggered whilst in motion. A slight nudge on your speed controller will cause the safety valve to blow.

You can contact Tony Walsham at RCS or email me at sales@mylocosound.com if you have any questions.

Regards

Peter Lucas

MyLocoSound
 
chris m01

chris m01

Registered
24 Oct 2009
4,415
387
Birmingham, UK
Love the video Chris.

MyLocoSound at £49 or A$89 will give the correct Shay sounds. Using a TV remote control, the chuff is adjustable to match the loco and is synchronised to the motor voltage and load. There is a good video of MyLocoSound in a Bachmann two truck Shay at
. The radio control used by Peter Spoerer is virtually identical to that used by Tony Walsham at RCS. Tony also sells lots of MyLocoSound, for both radio control and track power, and can give you good advice. MyLocoSound is not compatible with DCC.

The MyLocoSound whistle is adjustable in style, pitch and volume. You can trigger it, plus the bell, safety valve and "All aboard", manually using transmitter buttons on radio control.

On track power, the normal choice is to use the automatic sound modes. This causes the Westinghouse brake pump to sound automatically each time the loco is stationary. It also causes the bell to ring when the loco is moving below a user selected speed or when triggered by magnets under the track. The whistle can also be triggered by track magnets or by the remote control. It conforms to US whistle codes when starting and stopping and can sound the grade crossing sequence when triggered whilst in motion. A slight nudge on your speed controller will cause the safety valve to blow.

You can contact Tony Walsham at RCS or email me at sales@mylocosound.com if you have any questions.

Regards

Peter Lucas

MyLocoSound
The card in my Shay is a few years old and not so sophisticated as the currebt ones. It was one of the first fitted with chuff shut off when voltage is lowered. But it does the job for me. I do have a couple of the latest ones and they do do more tricks.
 
Rhinochugger

Rhinochugger

Retired Oik
27 Oct 2009
23,475
3,287
North West Norfolk
Love the video Chris.

MyLocoSound at £49 or A$89 will give the correct Shay sounds. Using a TV remote control, the chuff is adjustable to match the loco and is synchronised to the motor voltage and load. There is a good video of MyLocoSound in a Bachmann two truck Shay at
. The radio control used by Peter Spoerer is virtually identical to that used by Tony Walsham at RCS. Tony also sells lots of MyLocoSound, for both radio control and track power, and can give you good advice. MyLocoSound is not compatible with DCC.

The MyLocoSound whistle is adjustable in style, pitch and volume. You can trigger it, plus the bell, safety valve and "All aboard", manually using transmitter buttons on radio control.

On track power, the normal choice is to use the automatic sound modes. This causes the Westinghouse brake pump to sound automatically each time the loco is stationary. It also causes the bell to ring when the loco is moving below a user selected speed or when triggered by magnets under the track. The whistle can also be triggered by track magnets or by the remote control. It conforms to US whistle codes when starting and stopping and can sound the grade crossing sequence when triggered whilst in motion. A slight nudge on your speed controller will cause the safety valve to blow.

You can contact Tony Walsham at RCS or email me at sales@mylocosound.com if you have any questions.

Regards

Peter Lucas

MyLocoSound
Peter, I managed to get the Westinghouse pump to sound when I had the loco static on the bench, but since running it on the track I've not been able to find that mode.

I have the card in a Bachmann Connie, and am running it on US automatic with chuff activated by the Bachmann axle trigger switch - any ideas?
 
M

Moonraker

Registered
25 Oct 2009
860
82
South Australia
We recently changed the way the Westinghouse brake pump worked. Previously operation was entirely manual. You pressed the 5 button on the remote control or function 5 on the radio control to start and stop the brake pump. Recent versions of the soundcard work differently. Pressing the 5 button on the remote control now switches the automatic brake pump on and off. When switched on, the pump runs automatically each time the loco is stationary. However you can still use manual operation if you prefer.

If your brake pump is not sounding when it should, you may have accidentally turned its volume right down. I suggest that you reset the soundcard by holding down button 3 and then switch the brake pump back on using button 5.

Regards
Peter Lucas
MyLocoSound
 
Rhinochugger

Rhinochugger

Retired Oik
27 Oct 2009
23,475
3,287
North West Norfolk
We recently changed the way the Westinghouse brake pump worked. Previously operation was entirely manual. You pressed the 5 button on the remote control or function 5 on the radio control to start and stop the brake pump. Recent versions of the soundcard work differently. Pressing the 5 button on the remote control now switches the automatic brake pump on and off. When switched on, the pump runs automatically each time the loco is stationary. However you can still use manual operation if you prefer.

If your brake pump is not sounding when it should, you may have accidentally turned its volume right down. I suggest that you reset the soundcard by holding down button 3 and then switch the brake pump back on using button 5.

Regards
Peter Lucas
MyLocoSound
Peter, many thanks, I will have another play :clap::clap::clap:

I don't think I've investigated option 5 enough >:)>:)>:)>:)
 
Rhinochugger

Rhinochugger

Retired Oik
27 Oct 2009
23,475
3,287
North West Norfolk
We recently changed the way the Westinghouse brake pump worked. Previously operation was entirely manual. You pressed the 5 button on the remote control or function 5 on the radio control to start and stop the brake pump. Recent versions of the soundcard work differently. Pressing the 5 button on the remote control now switches the automatic brake pump on and off. When switched on, the pump runs automatically each time the loco is stationary. However you can still use manual operation if you prefer.

If your brake pump is not sounding when it should, you may have accidentally turned its volume right down. I suggest that you reset the soundcard by holding down button 3 and then switch the brake pump back on using button 5.

Regards
Peter Lucas
MyLocoSound
OK, have sorted the Westinghouse pump - thank you Peter :clap::clap::clap:

Now for the bell - is it only operated by track magnet / reed switch or using the Remote controller?

The website indicated an auto-operation when the speed reduced, but has that now been superseded?
 
GAP

GAP

G Scale trains, Lawn Bowls.
14 Jun 2011
2,427
631
64
Bomaderry, New South Wales, Australia
Personally I'm very happy with the mylocosound chip. The important thing with a Shay is that it should be chuffing like mad at a low speed.
In bold above; why is that?
How many chuffs per wheel revolution does a Shay have, most steam locos have 4 per revolution don't they?
I would have thought that Shay would only have 3 per revolution.
 
Tropic Blunder1

Tropic Blunder1

Jake
GAP because the shay is geared down the shay does more strokes of piston then wheel revolutions (for 10km/h for example you might be getting twice as many chuffs!) another thing to think about is because it has 3 cylinders you actually get 6 instead of 4 chuffs which is how you end up with something that sounds like this:
 
Reactions: trammayo
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
21,801
2,673
Tamworth, Staffs.
Oh for a sound system that could replicate a "quillable" whistle.
Just like on that video.
Amen, Brother!
Most the whistles (and horns) are carp. :(