Massoth digital lighting unit

P

phils2um

Registered
11 Sep 2015
282
79
Ann Arbor, Michigan
I had the same problem recently brought up by another forum member trying to set up Massoth 8122302 digital lighting units. Yesterday I found a solution that worked for me after beating my head against the wall and trying many things to program the unit with a Massoth PC Module. Once all else had failed, I referenced the CV table in the lighting unit's manual!

The main problem is that the lighting decoder template's "Switch outputs" provided in the Massoth service tool doesn't work with the lighting unit's decoder. It modifies the wrong CVs. Changing the A1 and A2 function settings with the template just screws things up - resulting in flashing lights, not responding as expected to function buttons, etc.

First I had to reset the decoder to undo the hash that the template had made of the CVs. I reset both the basic settings by writing 11 into CV8 and then the function settings by writing 22 into CV8 using the Service tool's "Single CV" option. I then used the Service tool template "GeneralLy" settings boxes to set the address (I use DCC long addresses and set the coach's ID number as the address) and the DCC configuration ( I selected 28 speed steps and digital only). This part of the template works OK. If nothing else is done then the F1 button will operate function A1 which is the lighting unit's own LEDs. The F2 button will operate function A2.

I had connected a Massoth analog lighting unit, 8122202 to the boards A2 output. I wanted both boards to light up with a single command using the "lights" function button. I changed both CV110 and CV120 to 0 from their default values of 1 and 2 to accomplish this. These are the CVs that determine what function button operates A1 and A2. A setting of 0 allocates the light button instead of the F1 and F2 buttons to A1 and A2.

My lights are now working as they should!

Phil S.
 
Last edited:
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
22,947
334
Tamworth, Staffs.
Excellent result, and a concise description of the problem, and work-around.

Thanks for coming back with the solution.

PhilP.
 
Greg Elmassian

Greg Elmassian

Registered
8 Mar 2014
2,727
136
San Diego
www.elmassian.com
Very interesting information that should be archived somewhere... I don't understand completely, and I guess it would help correlate the posts if the service tool also showed the CV instead of just the text description.

I use a similar tool for QSI and it shows both and is very helpful, rather than just taking it on "faith" that ticking the box changes the right CV, which seems to be one of the fundamental issues.

Greg
 
John S

John S

Registered
5 Nov 2017
634
110
Exeter, Devon, UK
When hover the mouse over the text, the CV is shown, no guesswork or blind faith is needed.
 
Greg Elmassian

Greg Elmassian

Registered
8 Mar 2014
2,727
136
San Diego
www.elmassian.com
Great! Funny when I hovered on the picture nothing happened for me! (ha ha)...

Unfortunately just looking at the screen shot means us outsiders cannot correlate the first posts with the screen shots, so I will ask some questions..

So Phil's first 2 paragraphs indicate that the service tool does not do the right thing for the 8122302 .

Do your screen shots confirm or contradict that? (see my point?)

Thanks, Greg

(just really want to learn about these beasties)
 
P

phils2um

Registered
11 Sep 2015
282
79
Ann Arbor, Michigan
John,

Where did you find this template? It does appear to be specific to the 8122302. It is not the 8122001 template and only lighting unit decoder template I have. I thought I had downloaded the most recent PC module updates.

Phil S.

Edit added: I see you created it yourself. Are you willing to share?
 
Last edited:
John S

John S

Registered
5 Nov 2017
634
110
Exeter, Devon, UK
Greg, correct, Phil was using the template for the 8122001 coach lighting unit, compare these two screenshots below with those in post #3.

Similar CV's are common across the range of Massoth Decoders, in the case of the lighting decoders completely different set of values and very few common CV's between the two decoders, hence the screw up, bit like using the diagnostics from a LADA to fine tune a F1 Racing Car.

The "dirty fix" to get around the problem, is to use basically any decoder template, and manually enter the CV's, see blow box marked Single CV, long winded and prone to making mistakes, (same theory as using a Navigator Handset), life is much simpler by using a GUI as in the Massoth Service Tool, me anything for an easy life.

The decoder template as in post #3, whilst rough and ready only took about 10 mins to create, and only requires ONE keypress or Mouse click to reload the decoder with the correct values, why reinvent the wheel!





121469_3d836ae8b3d35731e487eec346bab2d8.png


121471_ae63850148c0533f760348a1bc7c328c.png
 
Last edited:
John S

John S

Registered
5 Nov 2017
634
110
Exeter, Devon, UK
Edit added: I see you created it yourself. Are you willing to share?
Yep I'll upload it someplace, the Domestic Authority has to cast her proofreading eye over it first!, and double check my work!
It was put together quite quickly for an Indoor Meeting, and until your post popped up, completley forgot all about it, of on Holiday shortly, see if we can a proofread a working copy before we go.

Note to Moderators and Admin, because of the file delimiter as in XML, it is not possible to upload them to this site....???????
 
Last edited:
John S

John S

Registered
5 Nov 2017
634
110
Exeter, Devon, UK
Phil, conversion thingy PM sent.