KeithCo Locolinc KT-16 (circa late 90's)

rpiboy01

Registered
9 Dec 2021
Greater Boston MA, USA
Best answers
Country flag
Hello all!

I'm new to this party. Long time HO guy, however this summer I inheirted a small "g-scale" (really a mix of large scale stuff) from my wife's grandfather. Collection has been untouched for nearly two decades. He had installed (paid for, not himself) the KT-16 control boards in the three locos I've got. The first one I'm working on is a Bachman 4-4-0 America (also circa late 90's). It appears to have a Sierra Soundtraxx board and the Locolinc controller, conviently the installer put a sticker on with the loco address.

I've confirmed at the bench that all of the lights work. I've also confirmed that the motor is operational, by bypassing the control board and directly connecting a DC powerpack to the motor leads.

The KT-16 controller powers on when I put a 9v battery in, buttons all "seem" to work.

Here's the rub, no idea how to tell the controller I want to control the Loco to find out if it works. I thought I'd be able to just plug in the four digit address but that does not seem to be the case. I've reached out to the current Locolinc company and he was going to see if he could fine a KT-16 manual to mail me. I can't find anything online.

Is anyone able to tell me how to use the system to at least confirm the R/C is still operational? If it is, for now I'd like to leave sleeping dogs lying. Would love to put DCC in the loco(s) but as you all know that is not a cheap investment.

Also looking for input on battery packs (assuming the R/C still operates). I don't have any of the original battery packs. Suggestions or input on voltage/amps? Where to procure?

Thank you all, and I apologize if some of this is basic, as I noted, jumping into the large scale arena for the first time.

rpiboy01

Registered
9 Dec 2021
Greater Boston MA, USA
Best answers
Country flag
Hi Greg,