Hi from Birmingham UK

Andrew Smith

Registered
23 Feb 2023
Birmingham, UK
Best answers
Country flag
Hi,

I'm just getting started on my first G Scale garden railway. I've been building a N Gauge railway for the last 25 years and looking for a new project. I know very little about garden railways so will have lots to ask. Andrew

Gizzy

A gentleman, a scholar, and a railway modeller....
26 Oct 2009
Cambridgeshire
www.gscalecentral.net
Best answers
Country flag
Welcome to the forum Andrew!

Ask away, lot's of good advice but rubbish jokes....

mike

Master at annoying..
Staff member
GSC Moderator
24 Oct 2009
Rossendale
www.gscalecentral.net
Best answers
Country flag
Hi ,welcome to the madness

idlemarvel

Neither idle nor a marvel
13 Jul 2015
Ascot
Country
Mars
Best answers
Country flag
Hi,

I'm just getting started on my first G Scale garden railway. I've been building a N Gauge railway for the last 25 years and looking for a new project. I know very little about garden railways so will have lots to ask. Andrew
Hi Andrew,
Is that N gauge layout not finished yet? :)
Have you an idea of what you want in G scale, or are you looking for ideas? Hopefully it won't take another 25 years.
Welcome aboard.

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
Staff member
GSC Moderator
25 Oct 2009
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Best answers
Country flag
Hi Andrew welcome, be a good idea to get some idea of the direction you wish to go with G before you spend lots of money. My direction was East German Harz metre gauge, a couple of friends also chose that gauge but with Swiss prototypes. Piko also a good bet if you like standard gauge ish East German railways then there are USA options both Standard and Narrow Gauge. Good to look through some on line Catalogues to see what takes your fancy. I have not even mentioned 7/8th scale on 32 or 45 gauge track then there is live steam and some things I have not even thought about.