Hello from Texas (and the UK)

S

siclick33

Hello,

I am originally from the UK but currently living in Texas. I recently visited the Georgia Railroad Museum and they had an amazing (and huge) model locomotive on display, and it got me looking into the hobby. I do have a background in other modeling hobbies but my only dabble in railways was 00 Hornby sets when I was a kid; I have no background with steam engines.

Can anyone point to any good reading links for beginners (rather than ask the same questions that have been asked before)? Reading through this forum has been great but there are still a load of simple questions that I have, that have presumably been answered before, such as:

How do I go about setting up a track in my garden? What gauge should I use? What are the ‘best’ and most common manufacturers (of locos, rolling stock, track and extras)? What pitfalls should I look out for?

I have a couple of ideas of directions I could go down (and I’ll probably pose a question in the main live steam forum), and I don’t want to take up people’s time answering the same questions over and over, but if anyone could point me in a good direction that would be appreciated.

TTaannggss

Hates T.P.& r1Cur. Retired for 3 after 40 in Hosp.
29 Jan 2022
Sarnia
Best answers
Country flag
Welcome to the club. What part of Texas? .. if you happen to be in the area, and they are still open, check out the Galveston Rail Museum mate.

Paul M

Registered
25 Oct 2016
Royston
Best answers
Country flag
I've just replied to your other posting! Welcome again!

JimmyB

Now retired - trains and fishing
23 Feb 2018
Weston-super-Mare
www.tumble-down-falls.co.uk
Best answers
Country flag
Hi and welcome, lots of reading out there, and ideas on the forum, use the search feature to find what you are looking for, including books :)

Martino

Photography, The GWR, Aviation, Travel, Cars.
24 Oct 2009
Jasper, Georgia. USA
www.facebook.com
Best answers
Country flag
Hi and welcome.