Fitting a decoder to an LGB 22470 rack engine

  • Thread starter Roger the Dodger
  • Start date
R

Roger the Dodger

Registered
3 Jul 2019
22
67
Bournemouth UK
So I'm sitting here with a very nice LGB 22470 rack engine in front of me - and no instructions. Can anyone please tell me how to get at the circuit board to fit a decoder?
 
idlemarvel

idlemarvel

Neither idle nor a marvel
13 Jul 2015
2,224
Ascot
This exploded parts diagram should help you get started:
https://www.trainli.com/LGB-PDF/LGB Engines/20471-1.pdf
It's for an earlier model but the basic construction hasn't changed.
I used to have one which had a decoder fitted but I had to open it up to add a Massoth S sound decoder, and I don't remember any particular difficulties. You don't need to disassemble the rather intricate rack and adhesion movements which is something of a relief.
 
idlemarvel

idlemarvel

Neither idle nor a marvel
13 Jul 2015
2,224
Ascot
R

Roger the Dodger

Registered
3 Jul 2019
22
67
Bournemouth UK
Thank you very much Dave. Really helpful
 
Matthias

Matthias

Registered
13 Apr 2019
13
Switzerland
www.beathis.ch
I made a description of my conversion of the 20471 with a ZIMO MX699 here: Link

Perhaps my pics in this section helps: Link
 
idlemarvel

idlemarvel

Neither idle nor a marvel
13 Jul 2015
2,224
Ascot
I made a description of my conversion of the 20471 with a ZIMO MX699 here: Link

Perhaps my pics in this section helps: Link
Very impressive and well documented, thanks for sharing.
 
R

Roger the Dodger

Registered
3 Jul 2019
22
67
Bournemouth UK
This exploded parts diagram should help you get started:
https://www.trainli.com/LGB-PDF/LGB Engines/20471-1.pdf
It's for an earlier model but the basic construction hasn't changed.
I used to have one which had a decoder fitted but I had to open it up to add a Massoth S sound decoder, and I don't remember any particular difficulties. You don't need to disassemble the rather intricate rack and adhesion movements which is something of a relief.
Hi there
Thanks to your help I’ve now got the top off - relatively straightforward. This is the board inside. I’m assuming the blanking plug is the dual row green item on the left with 10 sockets/3 . Apologies if this is a stupid question ,but I model in 4mm scale normally, what type of decoder would you recommend here and does it come with a plug which will fit the 13 pins on the board? I’m not looking to put sound in, by the way. Also is it simply a question of plug and play if the decoder is plugged into the board or would it tequire programming first to operate functions which are lights, and smoke.
 
muns

muns

Moderator
Staff member
GSC Moderator
I do not see a pic!

But I would assume from your description that it has a 10pin DCC interface (the other 3 are used by the blanking plate only). If you dont want sound then a Massoth XL would be best (especially if you want to actually use it on a rack) with a 10 pin interface cable.

 
R

Roger the Dodger

Registered
3 Jul 2019
22
67
Bournemouth UK
I do not see a pic!

But I would assume from your description that it has a 10pin DCC interface (the other 3 are used by the blanking plate only). If you dont want sound then a Massoth XL would be best (especially if you want to actually use it on a rack) with a 10 pin interface cable.

oops! Pic wasn’t included. Thanks though Muns, that explains and the cable is what I’m after. Am I right to think the Massoth decoder will operate the front and rear lights directionally on F0. And would it need further programming to operate the cab light and smoke on separate functions?
While I’m on here Muns, any joy on that board to operate LGB auto couplers digitally?
 
idlemarvel

idlemarvel

Neither idle nor a marvel
13 Jul 2015
2,224
Ascot
muns muns may reply separately, but yes the Massoth decoder will operate directional lights using F0, and the default for smoke is F7 which turns on A1 (aux1) output to which you would connect a conventional smoke generator. If you have a pulsed smoke generator that would be different as they sometimes have their own decoder. You can have cab lights on a different function key to F0, but that would require connecting the cab light to a different output like A2 (aux2) and configuring the decoder to match.