First time with G scale

Edward Johns

Registered
26 May 2017
Rayleigh
Best answers
Good afternoon.

Although I have had HO railways for more years than I care to recall, I am brand new to G scale and the opportunities and challenges a garden railway brings. I have been fully digital in my HO layout for years now and love the freedom and functions it offers. As it happens my HO systems are Marklin mfx so LGB is a good starting place for me. Anyway I already have several questions about control systems and I hope someone out there will be able to offer advice and guidance so I get off to a solid start. Oh yes how much space I get is down to my wife who sees the garden as her "realm". Some serious negotiating will be needed I think!

G-force1

Prevarication Rules!
4 Aug 2015
North Middle Earth
Best answers
Country flag
Welcome EJ. Ask your questions. Someone (many) on here will give you answers.

Zerogee

Clencher's Bogleman
25 Oct 2009
North Essex
Best answers
Country flag
Welcome to GSC, Edward (or do you prefer Ed?) - we've got a few people here who use Marklin's MFX system with a CS2 or CS3 controller, and a lot more who run DCC but using other control systems like Massoth - you'll usually be able to get a few useful answers to most questions, in between all the banter!

Have fun here, we're a pretty approachable (if irreverant) lot...... ;)

As to negotiations about garden space, show your Better Half some of the nicer videos of trains wending their way gently through beautifully planted gardens, and stress how well one can complement the other.... :devil:

Jon.

Edward Johns

Registered
26 May 2017
Rayleigh
Best answers