ESU Loksound XL V4 Factory Reset

FurkaSOCal

FurkaSOCal

Registered
26 Dec 2017
55
0
28
San Diego
Hello all,

I've started having a problem with one of my ESU Loksound XL V4 decoders where the some of the headlights are only working intermittently. (They way in which they are failing leads me to suspect programming issues in the decoder not the wiring or bulbs.) I wanted to do a full factory reset of the decoder, and then re-upload the programming I did on the lokprogrammer software. I tried using the "reset decoder" option in the lokprogrammer software and setting CV8=8, but when I put the locomotive on the track it still plays all my sounds and doesn't appear to be truly factory reset.

Any ideas on how to get the decoder truly reset as if it was new out of the box?
 
Greg Elmassian

Greg Elmassian

Registered
8 Mar 2014
2,787
153
San Diego
www.elmassian.com
can you put up the link to the manual you are using? That way I can check it, and we can be sure you have the right command set.

Sounds like you did the motor decoder reset but not the sound reset. But I question whether you need to do this if you reload the programming... oh, you are not reloading the sound file, just your CV settings...

Sounds like you might be better off with JMRI at some point and write all the CV's....

Greg..
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
23,179
405
Tamworth, Staffs.
Back to basics:
Headlights, intermittent.. Speed step settings?
 
FurkaSOCal

FurkaSOCal

Registered
26 Dec 2017
55
0
28
San Diego
I was able to force a firmware update on the decoder which reset everything to factory settings, then reloaded the programming. Unfortunately the problem still persists so I'm going to try to use an unmodified original file, and then if all else fails take a look at the wiring. Any other ideas?
 
FurkaSOCal

FurkaSOCal

Registered
26 Dec 2017
55
0
28
San Diego
I agree, a more concise definition of "intermittent"... any chance your throttle is in 14 speed step mode and the decoder is not, or vice versa?

Greg
The locomotive has three headlights in front and three in rear. Yesterday only two were working on either end. Today only one will light in front. There is no flickering or anything I just cant get them to consistently light.
 
Greg Elmassian

Greg Elmassian

Registered
8 Mar 2014
2,787
153
San Diego
www.elmassian.com
Most likely the extra lights are hooked to other function outputs.

Did you do the install yourself? That should give you the function outputs the lights are connected to.

Then you can test the functioning or change the programming as needed.

If you did not do the install, you could figure out where the wires go, or go to the person who did the install and get it.

You have not responded about the sound file definitions nor the stock mapping of the functions.


Greg
 
FurkaSOCal

FurkaSOCal

Registered
26 Dec 2017
55
0
28
San Diego
I didn't do the install myself but yes they are hooked up to other functions and I know which ones. After the factory reset I reloaded all the sound files and default function mapping from ESU, but that didn't seem to fix the problem.
 
Greg Elmassian

Greg Elmassian

Registered
8 Mar 2014
2,787
153
San Diego
www.elmassian.com
So to continue the debugging of the lights.

the sound file will most likely have nothing to do with the lights.

So, since you know the function outputs for the lights, now you need to map the function outputs to a function key, or to forward or backward movement.

Looks like you have verified that the default mapping does not do what you want.

So, can you identify if the default mapping has anything mapped to the lights in question?

This is a concept that is difficult at first... you map a function key to a function output. also you can map some other attributes to a function output, like comes on in reverse or forwards.

If you want further help, then tell me what function output the lights are connected to, and the link to the manual for the decoder.

Regards, Greg
 
FurkaSOCal

FurkaSOCal

Registered
26 Dec 2017
55
0
28
San Diego
Turns out the problem was simply burnt out bulbs, likely due to the LokSound XL decoders not having a regulated 12v supply for the lights. The bulbs will be replaced with LED's which are rated for a wider voltage range.
 
Greg Elmassian

Greg Elmassian

Registered
8 Mar 2014
2,787
153
San Diego
www.elmassian.com
Small correction, want you to "get your mind right" (see cool hand luke movie) ;)..... LEDs have a very narrow voltage range, and need a fixed or limited current, you need a calculated resistor to restrict current... .. completely opposite thinking from incandescent bulbs which need a regulated or max voltage...

A piece of advice, if there is a regulated 5 volt common on the decoder, as opposed to "DEC +" which is normally unregulated, rectified track voltage, use the 5v, I can give you lots of reasons, but won't clutter the forum up here...

Greg