Dcc how to get power to points and signals

G

Greyfox

Registered
28 Jun 2019
35
0
67
Farnham
Paul, just connect your mains to your 18 vac power supply, connect the 18 vac power supply to your 51750 inlet, connect your 51750 outlets to your point motors, that is it.

There is a manual on this page it is simple
Hi I have connected power from massoth to 51800 then pushed together so power goes into 51750 points and this does not work
 
JimmyB

JimmyB

Phase 1 complete, roll on Phase 2
23 Feb 2018
2,094
338
65
Weston-super-Mare
Paul the 51800 is a control box for switching track power, I assume this is what you are using to power your lights. I have explained the connection series, you need a 18 vac power supply!!!!!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Greyfox
G

Greyfox

Registered
28 Jun 2019
35
0
67
Farnham
Paul the 51800 is a control box for switching track power, I assume this is what you are using to power your lights. I have explained the connection series, you need a 18 vac power supply!!!!!
But I want to use the massoth to supply the power .i did not expect to spend all that money to have to put a transformer out on track as well
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
24,036
686
Tamworth, Staffs.
Greyfox,

Now we know what you have connected..
Leave your Massoth box connected to your 51800 for your lights.

UNPLUG the 51750 from it!
Connect the SAME WIRES that feed your track into the 51750. - Now try your points..
 
  • Like
Reactions: John Russo
muns

muns

Moderator
Staff member
GSC Moderator
Please can you clarify, which terminals on the 1210Z or 1200T ARE being used to feed the 51750/51800 combination?

NOTE the 1200T power supply provides DC only.


If you are feeding it from the 1200T output or from the Power inputs on the 1210Z i would suggest moving the feeds to the Track output in the 1210Z.
 
G

Greyfox

Registered
28 Jun 2019
35
0
67
Farnham
Please can you clarify, which terminals on the 1210Z or 1200T ARE being used to feed the 51750/51800 combination?

NOTE the 1200T power supply provides DC only.


If you are feeding it from the 1200T output or from the Power inputs on the 1210Z i would suggest moving the feeds to the Track output in the 1210Z.
Hi I’m using track feed
 
JimmyB

JimmyB

Phase 1 complete, roll on Phase 2
23 Feb 2018
2,094
338
65
Weston-super-Mare
But I want to use the massoth to supply the power .i did not expect to spend all that money to have to put a transformer out on track as well
If you were to go ALL DCC fine, however as you are half DCC and half Analogue, then using your 51750 (analogue) then you have to expect to support this with other analogue equipment.
 
G

Greyfox

Registered
28 Jun 2019
35
0
67
Farnham
Greyfox,

Now we know what you have connected..
Leave your Massoth box connected to your 51800 for your lights.

UNPLUG the 51750 from it!
Connect the SAME WIRES that feed your track into the 51750. - Now try your points..
Hi nothing points still not working but there is green lights on 51750
 
G

Greyfox

Registered
28 Jun 2019
35
0
67
Farnham
If you were to go ALL DCC fine, however as you are half DCC and half Analogue, then using your 51750 (analogue) then you have to expect to support this with other analogue equipment.
Hi can’t I connect a box like 55025 from the 51800 to change power to dc to 51750’
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
24,036
686
Tamworth, Staffs.
Hi can’t I connect a box like 55025 from the 51800 to change power to dc to 51750’
NO.

The 55025 is point decoder..

This would connect to the track output of your central station, and the points would connect to the 55025.
You would then control your points with your Navigator handset.
 
G

Greyfox

Registered
28 Jun 2019
35
0
67
Farnham
NO.

The 55025 is point decoder..

This would connect to the track output of your central station, and the points would connect to the 55025.
You would then control your points with your Navigator handset.
Hi can I not get a converter to change dc output from 51800 to ac then it to 51750
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
24,036
686
Tamworth, Staffs.
Hi can I not get a converter to change dc output from 51800 to ac then it to 51750
Not easily..

It should be quite cheap to get a small transformer to give 15-18v AC to feed the 51750.


If you fed track power into the 51750, I reckon it should drive the points.. You would need two wires to a point motor to test this.
Do you have the LGB manual for the 51750?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Greyfox
JimmyB

JimmyB

Phase 1 complete, roll on Phase 2
23 Feb 2018
2,094
338
65
Weston-super-Mare
Not easily..

It should be quite cheap to get a small transformer to give 15-18v AC to feed the 51750.


If you fed track power into the 51750, I reckon it should drive the points.. You would need two wires to a point motor to test this.
Do you have the LGB manual for the 51750?
Link to the manual was provided this morning, its quite clear how to wire the ANALOGUE point switch to the point motor.
 
John Russo

John Russo

Registered
24 Sep 2015
94
2
62
PA
Can you please supply a diagram of how you have this wired.

You should have 2 wires connected from the "Track" terminals on the 1200Z to the power input terminals on the 51800. That providers AC to the 51800.

You should connect the 51800 to the 51750 by squeezing the two boxes together using the male and female connectors on the side. Alternatively, you could leave them separate and connect them with wires. Connect the power terminals from one to the other. This supplies AC to the 51750
 
John Russo

John Russo

Registered
24 Sep 2015
94
2
62
PA
See Alternate Attached Diagram
 

Attachments

G

Greyfox

Registered
28 Jun 2019
35
0
67
Farnham
Not easily..

It should be quite cheap to get a small transformer to give 15-18v AC to feed the 51750.


If you fed track power into the 51750, I reckon it should drive the points.. You would need two wires to a point motor to test this.
Do you have the LGB manual for the 51750?
Hi the problem I have is I have a transformer ,but I will have to run electrical cable up the garden 75 feet ,and I have already put in wires from massoth under ground so as not to have electricity out there ,so was looking for the mas to power both LGB boxes
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
24,036
686
Tamworth, Staffs.
Hi the problem I have is I have a transformer ,but I will have to run electrical cable up the garden 75 feet ,and I have already put in wires from massoth under ground so as not to have electricity out there ,so was looking for the mas to power both LGB boxes
So you want these boxes outside, somewhere in the vicinity of your track?

You can use track power into both boxes, if you wish. - The caveat is that it will be the DCC voltage/signal (square-wave 'ac') this will also be too much (very probably for your bulbs. But we can get round that.

Both boxes can be plugged into each other. Your point motors will then connect, as the diagram you have been given.
 
P

phils2um

Phil S
11 Sep 2015
381
171
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Hi Greyfox,

I've been reluctant to add to your confusion but your question has simple answers that have already been provided. I'm not being snarky here but suggest you carefully read a primer on DCC and how it is different from analog control. It can be confusing when you first begin using DCC. If you don't understand the differences between analog and digital control and mix the two incorrectly things wont work and there is a strong possibility you'll see smoke too!

Also, you were asked to provide a diagram of how you have your Massoth and LGB components wired together. You may think your verbal description is sufficient but there is a reason for the adage "a picture is worth a thousand words." Please draw a simple diagram showing what is connected where with the connections labelled, take a picture of the drawing, then attach the picture to your next post. Don't forget to include where the EPL switch drives are connected in your diagram. It will be very useful to those attempting to help you. In fact, with this exercise you might just realize where the problem is on your own!
 
  • Like
Reactions: John Russo
dunnyrail

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
15,398
625
71
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Hi Greyfox,

I've been reluctant to add to your confusion but your question has simple answers that have already been provided. I'm not being snarky here but suggest you carefully read a primer on DCC and how it is different from analog control. It can be confusing when you first begin using DCC. If you don't understand the differences between analog and digital control and mix the two incorrectly things wont work and there is a strong possibility you'll see smoke too!

Also, you were asked to provide a diagram of how you have your Massoth and LGB components wired together. You may think your verbal description is sufficient but there is a reason for the adage "a picture is worth a thousand words." Please draw a simple diagram showing what is connected where with the connections labelled, take a picture of the drawing, then attach the picture to your next post. Don't forget to include where the EPL switch drives are connected in your diagram. It will be very useful to those attempting to help you. In fact, with this exercise you might just realize where the problem is on your own!
Well said Phil, I have been reading this thread with increasing what on Earth (edited from my original 3 letter acronym) is going on thoughts. Hence I have not waded in to cloud the issue any more.