A new single manufacturer 'Dead Rail' wireless (RC) DCC system........ ?

Gardenbahner

Gardenbahner

Registered
10 Jul 2013
298
35
So what is the actual price to the UK with shipping taxes etc. ?
 
Tony Walsham

Tony Walsham

Manufacturer of RCS Radio Control.
25 Oct 2009
2,109
8
Casino, NSW
I get that Cliff.
It is not what I meant.
If it turns out the way Revo DCC is going to do it is the best way, they could stop anyone else doing it the same way.
 
C

Cliff George

Registered
24 Oct 2009
2,121
0
City of Chelmsford
So what is the actual price to the UK with shipping taxes etc. ?
You can get clobbered for customs duty, VAT and sometimes even a fee for collecting the previous two when ordering from outside the EU. What you actually get charged often depends on what is written on the customs declaration, the day of the week, how busy the receiver, which carrier is used etc. Sometimes nothing is charged, sometimes a lot gets charged. It is pretty much pot luck. In addition your goods can get held up until payment is received. Don't think I ever got charged anything extra on the stuff I got directly from TVD, but perhaps I was lucky.
 
Last edited:
C

Cliff George

Registered
24 Oct 2009
2,121
0
City of Chelmsford
I get that Cliff.
It is not what I meant.
If it turns out the way Revo DCC is going to do it is the best way, they could stop anyone else doing it the same way.
OK understood, but I think it is unlikly Revo DCC could get a patent. Surly there is much "prior art" on very similar systems and would they want to stop anyone else anyway? Would they have the money to do so? I don't think there is a patent on the non DCC revo protocol for example.
 
Zerogee

Zerogee

Clencher's Bogleman
25 Oct 2009
16,625
98
North Essex
Very interesting. Combining all the benefits of DCC and battery powered R/C. Win win! :clap:
Exactly; it's what a lot of us have been waiting for ever since the semi-mythical DRC300 was first promised by Massoth, something like ten years ago I think! My resistance to "conventional" RC has always been down to the lack of compatibility with all the amazing digital sounds and effects available via DCC..... the Tam Valley/Stanton combo that I've been successfully using for the last couple of years has done the job and generally worked well, its only real restriction being the relatively short control range allowed by the 869MHz band it uses. The new Revo system, using the same 2.4 GHz band as most good RC setups, does LOOK like it will get over that one limitation - we'll have to see how everyone gets on with them, the proof of the pudding will be in the eating!

Jon.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dunnyrail
Zerogee

Zerogee

Clencher's Bogleman
25 Oct 2009
16,625
98
North Essex
You can get clobbered for customs duty, VAT and sometimes even a fee for collecting the previous two when ordering from outside the EU. What you actually get charged often depends on what is written on the customs declaration, the day of the week, how busy the receiver, which carrier is used etc. Sometimes nothing is charged, sometimes a lot gets charged. It is pretty much pot luck. In addition your goods can get held up until payment is received. Don't think I ever got charged anything extra on the stuff I got directly from TVD, but perhaps I was lucky.
Yes, it's a lottery..... some parcels may get through, others will be charged - there should be no Customs Duties, but there WILL be VAT and a ransom fee (sorry, "handling charge") applied by Royal Mail/Parcelfarce/whoever makes the delivery.
Like you, Cliff, none of my purchases from TVD (or indeed from Neil Stanton) ever got charged, but others have.

Jon.
 
C

Cliff George

Registered
24 Oct 2009
2,121
0
City of Chelmsford
Placed an order for some myself, to try it out - as I've already got my two TVD-equipped locos up and running, I should be able to test the new system very easily as the new Revo module should be a straight drop-in replacement for the TVD DRS receiver - literally disconnect four wires and swap the receiver units over!
Jon.
As I read the spec/manual, page 15, you somehow need to have to access to the "linking button" on the receiver, and possibly to watch a LED as well. With the non DCC revo it was possible to connect a seperate switch to be located somewhere accessible, don't see anywhere it says the same feature is available on this new version. Not sure if the linking needs to be done just once, or repeated for each session.
 
Zerogee

Zerogee

Clencher's Bogleman
25 Oct 2009
16,625
98
North Essex
As I read the spec/manual, page 15, you somehow need to have to access to the "linking button" on the receiver, and possibly to watch a LED as well. With the non DCC revo it was possible to connect a seperate switch to be located somewhere accessible, don't see anywhere it says the same feature is available on this new version. Not sure if the linking needs to be done just once, or repeated for each session.

I would sincerely hope that it has to be done once only, like "binding" a standard 2.4 GHz RC Tx to an Rx.... if it is something that has to be repeated frequently it would be very inconvenient indeed, and a serious design flaw in the system. My assumption is that you do it once, at the point of finishing the installation and with the loco body off, then it's done "for life" (or at least until something goes wrong and it all needs to be re-set!).

Jon.
 
John S

John S

Registered
5 Nov 2017
634
110
Exeter, Devon, UK
Whilst I appreciate the new manual is "tentative" the schematic for the RC DCC Receiver board does bear a remarkable similarity to the original board, including a socket marked "SET", external switch connected to this perhaps? plus a socket marked EXT which does not have any documentation to explain what it's purpose is, attaching external reed switches?

The blurb on page 15 section 6, Transmitter linked to Receiver LCD screen will display Passed, other wise if linking not successful will display Failed.
I'd go along with Jon's assumption above, once linked, stays linked.

I wish all you Gentleman who have gone ahead with your purchase's, that the new RC DCC system works out as expected or is even better than expected.
 
Last edited:
dunnyrail

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
14,639
263
71
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
I would sincerely hope that it has to be done once only, like "binding" a standard 2.4 GHz RC Tx to an Rx.... if it is something that has to be repeated frequently it would be very inconvenient indeed, and a serious design flaw in the system. My assumption is that you do it once, at the point of finishing the installation and with the loco body off, then it's done "for life" (or at least until something goes wrong and it all needs to be re-set!).

Jon.
Clearly having to bind every time would be a real issue. All my other revo's have binding buttons pretty well accesible so if that turns out to be an issue with the latest kit (all waiting with baited breath) then we will be putting them very accesible indeed!
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
22,959
336
Tamworth, Staffs.
Barring a technical problem, you will only link once.. Just like the 'standard' Revo kit..
 
M

Moonraker

Registered
25 Oct 2009
866
1
South Australia
I think it is a real shame that they are sticking with the original all-button transmitter.....although I understand the economic reasons for doing so. I have just discarded Revolution from four of my locos and replaced them with transmitters with centre off throttle knobs. The main reason was that my grandkids found the Revolution far too hard to use when they visit every month or two. They were forever pressing the wrong buttons and getting completely stuck by accidentally moving to the wrong loco or going into programming mode.

Regards
Peter Lucas
MylocoSound
 
dunnyrail

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
14,639
263
71
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
I think it is a real shame that they are sticking with the original all-button transmitter.....although I understand the economic reasons for doing so. I have just discarded Revolution from four of my locos and replaced them with transmitters with centre off throttle knobs. The main reason was that my grandkids found the Revolution far too hard to use when they visit every month or two. They were forever pressing the wrong buttons and getting completely stuck by accidentally moving to the wrong loco or going into programming mode.

Regards
Peter Lucas
MylocoSound
Oh dear so they will not be able to program the TV Recorder for you then Peter?

Have to say though the only issue I have had with visitors is the pressing the top two buttons occasionally that scroll through Locomotives Linked to the Handsets and not noticing the difference in name which I have made as close to the type of train as possible. They are usualy trying to change direction which of course is a little below those two. Once they make that mistake they rarely make it again when how and what they have done is pointed out.

For my money the Revo is pretty well the most controllable system out there, once you have set maximum speeds etc the control is superb. Though some of my other systems (Spoerer and Fosworks) are pretty close in use.
 
beavercreek

beavercreek

Travel, Art, Theatre, Music, Photography, Trains
24 Oct 2009
17,351
56
East Anglia
www.facebook.com
When I originally started this thread, I had a few locos using the Revo DC system and found it to be spot on and having a good range.
I have set up one loco with the Tam Valley/Stanton system and that also works well.
The Stanton handset is a little large and has a very simple two digit display, but is USB chargeable so a plus there.
I like the Revo DC handset and the DCC one is very similar.

I ordered a set of the Revo DCC gear when I started the thread so hopefully it will arrive soon and testing can begin...
 
dunnyrail

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
14,639
263
71
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
When I originally started this thread, I had a few locos using the Revo DC system and found it to be spot on and having a good range.
I have set up one loco with the Tam Valley/Stanton system and that also works well.
The Stanton handset is a little large and has a very simple two digit display, but is USB chargeable so a plus there.
I like the Revo DC handset and the DCC one is very similar.

I ordered a set of the Revo DCC gear when I started the thread so hopefully it will arrive soon and testing can begin...
I finally managed to get my order paid for so waiting with baited breath for it to arrive, looks like Pfiffi will live at last!
 
Zerogee

Zerogee

Clencher's Bogleman
25 Oct 2009
16,625
98
North Essex
I hope your breath is bated, not baited ha ha!


Greg
Yes, that could get a bit unpleasant (and possibly dangerous, depending on just what the bait attracts......). ;):rofl:

Jon.
 
Zerogee

Zerogee

Clencher's Bogleman
25 Oct 2009
16,625
98
North Essex
I finally managed to get my order paid for so waiting with baited breath for it to arrive, looks like Pfiffi will live at last!

There seems to be some very odd inconsistencies in how TL45 assemble their products..... my Pfiffi (6101) has pickups on all six wheels, and runs very well. Fiffi (6102) on the other hand, came with the pickup bullets for the centre drivers loose in the "parts bag"....!
I haven't got round to fitting them yet, as so far she seems to run pretty well without them, both on my new layout and when visiting a friend's line - but at some point I guess I will put them in!

Jon.
 
dunnyrail

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
14,639
263
71
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
There seems to be some very odd inconsistencies in how TL45 assemble their products..... my Pfiffi (6101) has pickups on all six wheels, and runs very well. Fiffi (6102) on the other hand, came with the pickup bullets for the centre drivers loose in the "parts bag"....!
I haven't got round to fitting them yet, as so far she seems to run pretty well without them, both on my new layout and when visiting a friend's line - but at some point I guess I will put them in!

Jon.
Hells teeth Z, no wonder others get good running and mine is a crock. Just looked in the bag and there are the extra pickups. Now why would any manufacturer do that? Neither did my supplier even mention it when I Complained about the carp running saying that all his other customers were very hapy with Pfiffi! Too Late now, she going to be a battery machine as will all my other DCC Selktalbahn Locs if the Aristo kit works out. Fingers severely crossed.

Yes, that could get a bit unpleasant (and possibly dangerous, depending on just what the bait attracts......). ;):rofl:

Jon.
I prefer Bread Flake on a No.12 hook with 3.5 lb breaking strain line, perfect for Tench. Bet you all get a good laugh over my FPF bloomers!