Transformers

zman50

Registered
22 Feb 2019
116
3
66
Wisconsin
Country
United-States
Country flag
I would like to have one transformer to run two LGB engines on separate track. Is there such a beast out there? Thanks
 

Gizzy

A gentleman, a scholar, and a railway modeller....
26 Oct 2009
34,433
1,790
61
Cambridgeshire
www.gscalecentral.net
Country flag
I would like to have one transformer to run two LGB engines on separate track. Is there such a beast out there? Thanks
If you are thinking of something like the H&M Duette as used on smaller scales then the answer is no.

But if you have a DCC system like the Massoth 1200Z, you can run two trains from the one Navigator....
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 user

Paul M

Registered
25 Oct 2016
7,895
1,200
58
Royston
Country flag
I would like to have one transformer to run two LGB engines on separate track. Is there such a beast out there? Thanks
Do you mean transformer, or controller?
 

Homo Habilis

Registered
16 Apr 2016
40
7
55
USA
Country flag
Assuming that I understand your requirements you could consider something like the Bridgewerks Magnum 200R though it might be a bit too much for your two LGB engines.

And as we say, "it's rather spendy", but it is a "beast"! :p
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 user

zman50

Registered
22 Feb 2019
116
3
66
Wisconsin
Country
United-States
Country flag
thanks for that link I checked it out and it looks really nice but price is up there.
 

Paul M

Registered
25 Oct 2016
7,895
1,200
58
Royston
Country flag
I mean transformer with speed control on top of it. Thanks
I thought so, obviously you can get a transformer big enough to supply as many controllers as you want, but I'll leave the advice as to exactly what controllers to the real experience on the forum!
 

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
20,917
4,082
73
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Country flag
I would have thought an LGB 50110 and a couple of 52120 or older equivalents would fit the bill providing you are not trying to drive heavy amp pulling lumps of locomotives. You ought to be able to source all of these second hand in good working order for a reasonable price.
 

Eeyore.Boater

Registered
24 Oct 2009
114
16
Stafford
Country flag
I would have thought an LGB 50110 and a couple of 52120 or older equivalents would fit the bill providing you are not trying to drive heavy amp pulling lumps of locomotives. You ought to be able to source all of these second hand in good working order for a reasonable price.
Zman50 will probably need a 110/115 volt ac input version of the 50110, which is a 50111. The current version is a 60195.
 
Last edited:

Eeyore.Boater

Registered
24 Oct 2009
114
16
Stafford
Country flag
Low cost route would be a used laptop computer power supply/ charger. Available from most people’s junk drawer for very little money. Commonly available in 18 to 20 volts dc and about 5 amps (approx 100 watts).
Thanks D Dan it was 100 watts in my head, but must encountered some resistance before it reached my finger tips.
 
Last edited:

Alpineandy

Registered
25 Oct 2009
2,036
400
Alpennines
Country flag
I have used a universal laptop supply and train engineer for analogue running and never had a problem................
 

zman50

Registered
22 Feb 2019
116
3
66
Wisconsin
Country
United-States
Country flag
Low cost route would be a used laptop computer power supply/ charger. Available from from most people’s junk drawer for very little money. Commonly available in 18 to 20 volts dc and about 5 amps (approx 60 watts).
The laptop transformer is a interesting alternative, and 5 amps wow. Then I would just need some controllers. Thnks
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 user

Dan

Registered
28 Jan 2010
451
39
Eastern MA
Country flag
20 volts and 5 amps is 100 watts in my book. Althugh pricey, LGB has a 5 amp Hut and the controller for panel mounting can be found at times. Input for this hut is AC or DC.
 

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
29,291
3,020
Tamworth, Staffs.
Country flag
20 volts and 5 amps is 100 watts in my book.

100VA - Only equivalent to Watts for DC. - 'Lies to children(TM)'

But as we would say in a previous existence: "Good enough for television!" :):nerd::nod:
 

Rhinochugger

Retired Oik
27 Oct 2009
31,377
3,751
North West Norfolk
Country flag
100VA - Only equivalent to Watts for DC. - 'Lies to children(TM)'

But as we would say in a previous existence: "Good enough for television!" :):nerd::nod:
I was once told that my father was volts, my mother was amps, so that's how they got little Watts :blush::blush::blush: