Transformers

Z

zman50

Registered
22 Feb 2019
74
65
Wisconsin
I would like to have one transformer to run two LGB engines on separate track. Is there such a beast out there? Thanks
 
Gizzy

Gizzy

A gentleman, a scholar, and a railway modeller....
26 Oct 2009
33,499
59
Cambridgeshire
www.gscalecentral.net
I would like to have one transformer to run two LGB engines on separate track. Is there such a beast out there? Thanks
If you are thinking of something like the H&M Duette as used on smaller scales then the answer is no.

But if you have a DCC system like the Massoth 1200Z, you can run two trains from the one Navigator....
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 user
P

Paul M

Registered
25 Oct 2016
5,253
57
Royston
I would like to have one transformer to run two LGB engines on separate track. Is there such a beast out there? Thanks
Do you mean transformer, or controller?
 
Homo Habilis

Homo Habilis

Registered
16 Apr 2016
21
54
USA
Assuming that I understand your requirements you could consider something like the Bridgewerks Magnum 200R though it might be a bit too much for your two LGB engines.

And as we say, "it's rather spendy", but it is a "beast"! :p
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 user
Z

zman50

Registered
22 Feb 2019
74
65
Wisconsin
thanks for that link I checked it out and it looks really nice but price is up there.
 
P

Paul M

Registered
25 Oct 2016
5,253
57
Royston
I mean transformer with speed control on top of it. Thanks
I thought so, obviously you can get a transformer big enough to supply as many controllers as you want, but I'll leave the advice as to exactly what controllers to the real experience on the forum!
 
dunnyrail

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
17,817
72
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
I would have thought an LGB 50110 and a couple of 52120 or older equivalents would fit the bill providing you are not trying to drive heavy amp pulling lumps of locomotives. You ought to be able to source all of these second hand in good working order for a reasonable price.
 
Eeyore.Boater

Eeyore.Boater

Registered
24 Oct 2009
76
Stafford
I would have thought an LGB 50110 and a couple of 52120 or older equivalents would fit the bill providing you are not trying to drive heavy amp pulling lumps of locomotives. You ought to be able to source all of these second hand in good working order for a reasonable price.
Zman50 will probably need a 110/115 volt ac input version of the 50110, which is a 50111. The current version is a 60195.
 
Last edited:
Eeyore.Boater

Eeyore.Boater

Registered
24 Oct 2009
76
Stafford
Edited to remove duplicate
 
Eeyore.Boater

Eeyore.Boater

Registered
24 Oct 2009
76
Stafford
Low cost route would be a used laptop computer power supply/ charger. Available from most people’s junk drawer for very little money. Commonly available in 18 to 20 volts dc and about 5 amps (approx 100 watts).
Thanks D Dan it was 100 watts in my head, but must encountered some resistance before it reached my finger tips.
 
Last edited:
Alpineandy

Alpineandy

Registered
25 Oct 2009
1,750
Alpennines
I have used a universal laptop supply and train engineer for analogue running and never had a problem................
 
Z

zman50

Registered
22 Feb 2019
74
65
Wisconsin
Low cost route would be a used laptop computer power supply/ charger. Available from from most people’s junk drawer for very little money. Commonly available in 18 to 20 volts dc and about 5 amps (approx 60 watts).
The laptop transformer is a interesting alternative, and 5 amps wow. Then I would just need some controllers. Thnks
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 user
D

Dan

Registered
28 Jan 2010
317
Eastern MA
20 volts and 5 amps is 100 watts in my book. Althugh pricey, LGB has a 5 amp Hut and the controller for panel mounting can be found at times. Input for this hut is AC or DC.
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
26,496
Tamworth, Staffs.
20 volts and 5 amps is 100 watts in my book.
100VA - Only equivalent to Watts for DC. - 'Lies to children(TM)'

But as we would say in a previous existence: "Good enough for television!" :):nerd::nod:
 
Rhinochugger

Rhinochugger

Retired Oik
27 Oct 2009
28,137
North West Norfolk
100VA - Only equivalent to Watts for DC. - 'Lies to children(TM)'

But as we would say in a previous existence: "Good enough for television!" :):nerd::nod:
I was once told that my father was volts, my mother was amps, so that's how they got little Watts :blush::blush::blush: