Three into two?

  • Thread starter Sarah Winfield
  • Start date
S

Sarah Winfield

Registered
20 Jun 2016
984
268
74
Dorset
#1
I have 2 lines entering my terminus. One comes in from the left curve and the other from the right curve. Then the two lines become 3 in the station.

The outer lines will be for the platforms and the centre road, hopefully, will be engine release or stock storage. I would like it so all 3 roads can leave by both incoming lines.

Can this be done without a double slip please?

Thank you

SW

PS I realise there will be some DPDT switches to wire up.
 
ntpntpntp

ntpntpntp

Registered
24 Oct 2009
7,184
256
55
UK
#3
Can you draw a sketch?
 
chris m01

chris m01

Registered
24 Oct 2009
4,393
361
Birmingham, UK
#4
Agreed that double slips cause possible derail issues and provide plenty of interest when being wired up but double slips were very popular on the real railways, especially in the UK.
 
S

Sarah Winfield

Registered
20 Jun 2016
984
268
74
Dorset
#5
Sorry the sketch does not do me justice but hopefully you will understand the 2 lines into the 3 lines of the station.

I have put in the track as I see it but other more experienced might have other ideas.

I try to use only set pieces of LGB track lengths.

For the perfectionist it probably causes them the colleywobbles,

SW
 

Attachments

Gizzy

Gizzy

Railways, Aviation, Caravanning....
26 Oct 2009
31,953
1,409
Cambridgeshire
www.gscalecentral.net
#7
A double slip is really only a couple of points, 'toe to toe'. Useful for places where the space is restricted.

I have one to fit in my proposed layout, although it will mostly be used as a diamond crossing.

I've heard that they can be problematic in G scale, but I just want one! :eek:

Note that the LGB one is 'around-about' R2/22.5 degree, so you will need the short 7.5 degree curves, if you are using R1/30 degree points....
 
Last edited:
ntpntpntp

ntpntpntp

Registered
24 Oct 2009
7,184
256
55
UK
#8
JimmyB

JimmyB

Learning; but slowly!
23 Feb 2018
912
395
64
Weston-super-Mare
#9
P

Paul M

Registered
25 Oct 2016
2,122
758
55
Royston
#10
A wye and a 3 way point?
 
S

Sarah Winfield

Registered
20 Jun 2016
984
268
74
Dorset
#11
I've managed to achieve what I wanted just using R1 points. It does take up quite an amount of space but still means I can run 3/4 coach trains.

SW
 
Gavin Sowry

Gavin Sowry

Garden Railroader and Raconteur
27 Oct 2009
5,796
1,964
65
Hutt Valley, NZ
#12
A double slip ............

I've heard that they can be problematic in G scale, but I just want one! :eek:
You won the pools, or something? :wondering:
 
Gavin Sowry

Gavin Sowry

Garden Railroader and Raconteur
27 Oct 2009
5,796
1,964
65
Hutt Valley, NZ
#14
Sorry the sketch does not do me justice but hopefully you will understand the 2 lines into the 3 lines of the station.

I have put in the track as I see it but other more experienced might have other ideas.

I try to use only set pieces of LGB track lengths.

For the perfectionist it probably causes them the colleywobbles,

SW
You can save yourself two turnouts... cut out the link from the top 'platform road' to top leg of the 'triangle'. I say this, because as you will not be running two trains at the same time into the station, the link is redundant. Trains will still be able to enter the station platforms from either end of the oval.
 
dunnyrail

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
13,511
3,131
70
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
#15
You can save yourself two turnouts... cut out the link from the top 'platform road' to top leg of the 'triangle'. I say this, because as you will not be running two trains at the same time into the station, the link is redundant. Trains will still be able to enter the station platforms from either end of the oval.
I think that Sarah wants to run from one side of the Station to the other without changing any points thus giving the feeling of going from somewhere to somewhere different.

As for a Double Slip, one would work where you have used 2 Points and the LGB ones are very reliable and completely viable for you with your predominantly R1 Railway. But the geometry may be tricky to sort out without some short lengths of rail in as in your plan and LGB Double Slips are pretty expensive even if you can find one second hand. Probably + £100. We also found on the Ruschbahn that Short Stainz Type Locomotives were a little bit challenged with pickups due to the Dead Frogs.

For you to justify Sarah, if consider the cost is worth the short saving of space for you.
 
Last edited:
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
21,275
2,467
Tamworth, Staffs.
#16
:eek::(
Due to the heat.. Having a jungle.. And possibly the cats and foxes??
I am in the unenviable position of being able to supply dead frogs..
:(:oops:
 
S

Sarah Winfield

Registered
20 Jun 2016
984
268
74
Dorset
#17
Thank you for your replies.

I have considered removing the link and I might yet still. It has all that I planned; that is any train arriving at any station platform can be dispatched through either of the loops.

Unfortunately it isn't quite as neat as I had hoped.

SW
 
Gizzy

Gizzy

Railways, Aviation, Caravanning....
26 Oct 2009
31,953
1,409
Cambridgeshire
www.gscalecentral.net
#18
Sorry the sketch does not do me justice but hopefully you will understand the 2 lines into the 3 lines of the station.

I have put in the track as I see it but other more experienced might have other ideas.

I try to use only set pieces of LGB track lengths.

For the perfectionist it probably causes them the colleywobbles,

SW
This is the station at Aylsham on the Bure Valley Railway.

It has 2 platforms faces, with a shared run round loop. A 3 way point links the platform roads to the run round loop.

So your idea is used on a real life railway....

102258_fc99ff28f0b327e3b9392139f422cd2b.jpg
 
Scot Lawrence

Scot Lawrence

Registered
30 May 2018
45
72
49
Rochester, NY USA
#19
Sarah,
how about something like this?

102274_228d28d0a6d1e360fcba6c7875042110.jpg


Your diagram above has 7 turnouts, this one has 5.
You dont technically need a wye switch to make it work..

Scot
 
S

Sarah Winfield

Registered
20 Jun 2016
984
268
74
Dorset
#20
Sarah,
how about something like this?

View attachment 241582

Your diagram above has 7 turnouts, this one has 5.
You dont technically need a wye switch to make it work..

Scot
Ah, that gives me exactly what I want. I was going to compromise but your suggestion meets my requirements.

I'm DCC what about wiring please will it involve DPDT switches?

SW