Lgb mallet 20851

Adam1989

Registered
11 Mar 2018
Calne wiltshire
Best answers
Country flag
Hi guys I am new to the hole mts set up 2 of my locos have direct decoder sockets but, my mallet looks like it’s to old for that, so what chip should I use, how many should I use. Also is it an easy conversion to do has anyone got any pictures or diagrams thanks guys.

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
Nottingham
Best answers
Country flag
Not too difficult..
Do you have sound in your Mallet? - If not, do you want sound?
Answer to above will decide how we advise you further.
PhilP

Adam1989

Registered
11 Mar 2018
Calne wiltshire
Best answers
Country flag
No factory fitted sound I would like to have the option to fit it at a later date though.

stockers

Trains, aircraft, models, walking, beer, travel
24 Oct 2009
Nr. Ashford, Kent. England.
Best answers
Country flag
It can certainly be done but it is a bit fiddly.
You probably have the older design three pin gearboxes in there. These need a bit of conversion. Then it is usually easiest to rip out most of what wiring is there and replace with a shiny new decoder big enough to power both motors - Personally I would use a Massoth XLS (includes sound).
Have a look in the digital section on here and the subsection of decoder fitting - that'll show you the three pin conversion and the decoder install.
Not the easiest job for a newbie but doable - keep asking here.

Adam1989

Registered
11 Mar 2018
Calne wiltshire
Best answers
Country flag
So from what I can gather if it has the older 3 pin gearboxes it’s harder, but if it’s the later ones with 4 pins it’s a lot easier.

stockers

24 Oct 2009
Best answers
Country flag
Correct. but dont panic. I changed mine in my early days with DCC.

PhilP

5 Jun 2013
Nottingham
Best answers
Country flag
So from what I can gather if it has the older 3 pin gearboxes it’s harder, but if it’s the later ones with 4 pins it’s a lot easier.

as Alan says..