LGB 2017D decoder fitting

Nighthaunt

Registered
7 Dec 2014
Kent
Best answers
Country flag
Hi Everyone,

Really hoping someone's able to offer some guidance / help.

I have a Yellow LGB US outline 0-4-0 loco (model label is 23171 but model number from catalogues is 2017D).

I have an LGB 55021 decoder I can either fit in this or an Lehman Porter engine (dinosaur fantasy rusty engine).

I would prefer to fit the decoder to this loco 2017D but it looks like a major rewire type job as no circuit board or any wires other than those to front light - and I'm not experienced wiring and a bit clueless :(

Any advice gratefully received - I've googled but with no help as this isn't a Stains.

Alex

sparky230

Registered
29 Mar 2011
Northfleet
Best answers
Basicly a 2017 is a stainz, same motor block, either a sandwitch block or split block.
If a split block you will need to isolate the pickups from the motor and solder leads directly to the motor.
Not my field, but have done the alterations on the block for people to fit the decoders

Zerogee

Clencher's Bogleman
25 Oct 2009
North Essex
Best answers
Country flag
If there is no circuit board in the 2017 at all, then it's PROBABLY an old "clamshell" or "split" gearbox - does it have a seam line running down the centre of the gearbox when viewed from underneath? Also, are the driving wheels held onto the axles with slotted screws in the wheel hubs?

Modifying a clamshell gearbox for DCC fitment is not difficult, provided you can solder a bit and you're happy with taking the loco apart.

Couple of other questions, has your 2017 got a motorised tender? If so, it's the equivalent of a two-motor loco and the 55021 might not be up to the job - these decoders were really designed for single motor locos only, and you might need a second separate one for the tender motor.