Lazy Grange Bay 3...a new start

mike

mike

Moderator
Staff member
GSC Moderator
24 Oct 2009
49,490
267
Rossendale
www.lazygrangebay.co.uk
I believe that marlin Lgb bought the brava moulds, and had the loco chaseyy re worked to better deal with R1s and made a better job of the loco gearbox /drives &, motor.
I think they dropped the ball on the tender, the 18wires linking the 2 and the skates design.
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
22,293
117
Tamworth, Staffs.
18 wires...
So the decoder is in the wrong place! - Should be in the loco.. :rolleyes::shake:

The only reason there would be that much current through that single pickup-point, would be if the others were not doing their job..
If (say) the linking plug was not properly in?? - Then all current on one side 'could' be going through the tender?? and it still be feeding everything else in the loco.
 
mike

mike

Moderator
Staff member
GSC Moderator
24 Oct 2009
49,490
267
Rossendale
www.lazygrangebay.co.uk
No... It was running on my rolling road... And it was powered... Through the pick ups.. So, my bad...
119563_050a6a8b555ace6c0b74a999b5069803.jpg
119565_569b21438a98ccffc3a939821f7538ee.jpg
119568_df914b6821e615938ee6bc4414746dfe.jpg
119569_b02bde376bd9bf0323e3a682ab55f63e.jpg
119571_68e68e7c34904dc24e6515a8ab61134b.jpg
119573_d6337eebd05bcb2faa2b51408de0714a.jpg
18 wires..yes..today I removed the skates and refitted the plastic holder re fixed the tender top
 
  • Like
Reactions: kim
Greg Elmassian

Greg Elmassian

Registered
8 Mar 2014
2,493
85
San Diego
www.elmassian.com
So, have you determined to your satisfaction what caused the problem?

Normally this only happens when you have a short through that skate.

Have you measured the current draw to make sure it's not excessive?

And verified power pickup from the other wheels on the loco?
 
mike

mike

Moderator
Staff member
GSC Moderator
24 Oct 2009
49,490
267
Rossendale
www.lazygrangebay.co.uk
So, have you determined to your satisfaction what caused the problem?

Normally this only happens when you have a short through that skate.

Have you measured the current draw to make sure it's not excessive?

And verified power pickup from the other wheels on the loco?
As far as I can tell, the pickup over heated, due to the spring ect and power only being picked up on the 1 roller.. No I haven't tested it yet.. Only just reassemble it.. But...
 
dunnyrail

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
14,216
124
70
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Hmmm wondering about all of this, looks very likely that there was an issue with the rolling road. Do you have 7 rollers for your 2-8-0? If not likely that you may have inadvertently been driving all the power via that one melted Plastic Pickup holder. Also possibly some of the rollers may not have been picking up to provide power via possible dirty track or rollers themselves. This could possibly be a warning about the use of rollers and ensuring that they are all providing power before using. Tested out simply by placing said Loco on rollers and proving all the power provision with a Meter from Track to each wheel.
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
22,293
117
Tamworth, Staffs.
Track/roller to wheel, is only half-way there.. There is then however power gets from the wheel/axle into the loco/tender.. If wipers/brushes are not doing their job, you can still have a problem..

From Mike's comment, although on a rolling-road, he was feeding power through the skates?? - That is how I read his comment.
 
mike

mike

Moderator
Staff member
GSC Moderator
24 Oct 2009
49,490
267
Rossendale
www.lazygrangebay.co.uk
As phill says power fthrough the skates only as I thought it would be fine..
 
Rhinochugger

Rhinochugger

Retired Oik
27 Oct 2009
24,020
125
North West Norfolk
As phill says power fthrough the skates only as I thought it would be fine..
......... and in reality, it should be, we're only talking 20 volts, and there should be some margin for safety :nod::nod::nod:
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
22,293
117
Tamworth, Staffs.
......... and in reality, it should be, we're only talking 20 volts, and there should be some margin for safety :nod::nod::nod:
Ah, but.. As the saying goes:
"It's the volt's, that jolts. But, the current, that kill's!"

It would be the current, and perhaps a little dirt/excess grease, so a little resistance. :nerd:
 
Rhinochugger

Rhinochugger

Retired Oik
27 Oct 2009
24,020
125
North West Norfolk
Ah, but.. As the saying goes:
"It's the volt's, that jolts. But, the current, that kill's!"

It would be the current, and perhaps a little dirt/excess grease, so a little resistance. :nerd:
Yeah, so what sort of current does DCC run at?
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
22,293
117
Tamworth, Staffs.
Yeah, so what sort of current does DCC run at?
Depends on Central Station setting, normally..

My guess for a Massoth CS, is probably 12 Amps? - Though it does not take that much to get things hot!

5 watt sidelight bulb, on your car. - Call it 6 watts (to make the maths simple :) :

Power(6 watts) = Volts (12) x Current 'I'(our 'unknown')

So,

I = P / V (6/12 or 0.5 Amps)

So half an amp, but would you want to hold a sidelight bulb in your fist? :eek:
 
mike

mike

Moderator
Staff member
GSC Moderator
24 Oct 2009
49,490
267
Rossendale
www.lazygrangebay.co.uk
It was running on a Lgb starter set controller at 1amp rating at the time..
Now its back on massoth power rails
119585_236bad441d64a79f35aa90f672b171a1.jpg
 
  • Like
Reactions: trammayo
mike

mike

Moderator
Staff member
GSC Moderator
24 Oct 2009
49,490
267
Rossendale
www.lazygrangebay.co.uk
Today was a day to test trains.. So I did
119753_7f113dbe8b0fd22c2b3a9e3ff4d3295f.jpg
119756_1aa3cecdb19a1f0b56ca6ccd9d2fa0fa.jpg
119757_234ee644f62923b85a886929c44b68e4.jpg
119759_e5f02cd4025e027fc464bec4fddd4808.jpg
 
  • Like
Reactions: trammayo
mike

mike

Moderator
Staff member
GSC Moderator
24 Oct 2009
49,490
267
Rossendale
www.lazygrangebay.co.uk
And just because I woke up this way.. Today we are running a B.R. Class29 Desial in green early crest.. Because I can..
119929_95e746a388970c532db0f21c48f566f0.jpg
119932_291026efc569bce3b2189c4038ab7326.jpg
119933_6b99b4efeb3b786c9c46554872e29522.jpg
119936_e3520dca448422c4e595994148dce4e1.jpg
119937_51f152ed19b990c37c541194acc9b95e.jpg
119939_cd2acd1f2936550cf5f0576de23a8861.jpg
 
mike

mike

Moderator
Staff member
GSC Moderator
24 Oct 2009
49,490
267
Rossendale
www.lazygrangebay.co.uk
Really would like a 060 Desial shunter
 
PhilP

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
22,293
117
Tamworth, Staffs.
Really would like a 060 Desial shunter
I know where there are two.. Even have the radio-gear with them. - Doesn't work though, and they are a little on the 12" to the foot.. ;):giggle::giggle:
 
mike

mike

Moderator
Staff member
GSC Moderator
24 Oct 2009
49,490
267
Rossendale
www.lazygrangebay.co.uk
Low relief shop front for a mates layout.. The blood will dry and that's what superglue was invented for
120023_31bdab194f16218efbb075891cf54904.jpg
120024_3ed42b8685d0905b9fb373a07bd12c03.jpg
120025_85dd0a610ca6f42473c2144ee0e1fef9.jpg
120027_86e115cf10b34c5faf32c35ddaf1b190.jpg
120034_927e8bf00cb913399c896fb53a94b95b.jpg
120035_03de96ef38502cf62681c99b3e348e5c.jpg
120036_b2e0269dbf0b1df56a5d878353d594d7.jpg
120037_3a01090e2419204b53580040f2e35970.jpg
120038_d917bd4d25dada4de00b93d6f2f57288.jpg
120039_cb7b5bcb1790a2334951414564ea8d7e.jpg
120041_b6f306808a7bed6a6ee4a97cacc921ca.jpg
120043_cb2e2b68424d28fd86895a10b7d3d1d8.jpg