Ideas and Help

Johndoor69

Registered
21 Nov 2022
Douglas, GA
Best answers
Country flag
I’m new to G Scale but not new to model railroading. This year I added a G-Scale train to my Christmas decorations in my yard. A little about my set up, I have 84 feet of track (a single radius followed by 6 sections of straight track then another single radius - forming a large circle or dodecagon if you want to be technical but we will call it a circle). I am running a Bachman 4-6-0 steam locomotive follow by a coal tender and a few freight cars... Now for my issue I am hoping someone has some ideas, the traction wheels on the locomotive have no issue, none of the freight cars have any issue, but the 4 - "guide wheels" on the locomotive keep derailing, (speed has not seemed to affect the ability of the wheels to stay on the track. Has anyone else encountered this problem? I was thinking of possibly adding a heavier spring to the guide wheel assembly, maybe increasing the down pressure would keep the wheels in contact with the track, Thoughts? I am open to suggestions or ideas. Attached are a few photos of my setup when i was getting started.Train #1.jpegTrain #2.jpeg

viaEstrecha

Spanish metre gauge in G scale (on the cheap)
25 Oct 2009
Bedfordshire
Country
United-Kingdom
Best answers
Country flag
Greg Elmassian (on this forum) has some hints on his site elmassian.com and worth a read too is this one Big hauler tips . There are at least two main variants of the front bogie and most folk recommend adding a little weight or two. From my experience, check also if there is a wire above the bogie, which is interfering with movement of the pivot post. Often as not, it is uneven track joints, especially on a curve, which leave the bogie slightly up in the air as the loco's weight is borne on just the 6 large wheels.

Last edited:

Johndoor69

Registered
21 Nov 2022
Douglas, GA
Best answers
Country flag