Hello from Edmonton

Ralph60Edm

Registered
4 Feb 2022
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Best answers
Country flag
I'm a brand new member of this forum. My current situation is I'm newly retired and looking to start a garden railway project. I will be reviewing old conversations and threads to educate myself. My plan is to have the basic layout built by end of summer 2023.

TTaannggss

Hates T.P.& r1Cur. Retired for 3 after 40 in Hosp.
29 Jan 2022
Sarnia
Best answers
Country flag
Hi there ....there is an Edmonton in UK too. That was my first guess. I am just getting started too. I sold ho steam engine to a guy from Edmonton few months ago and we still keep in touch. People here are very nice and helpful. I have been to your nice city.

Reactions: 1 user

idlemarvel

Neither idle nor a marvel
13 Jul 2015
Ascot
Country
Mars
Best answers
Country flag
Welcome on board. I don't know how you will resist having a G scale starter set running somewhere before summer '23!

TTaannggss

29 Jan 2022
Sarnia
Best answers
Country flag
Ya that is what I thought too. Once I get my engine in 2 weeks I will be running it on stretched out paperclips if I have to.

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
Nottingham
Best answers
Country flag
Welcome to the Forum, Ralph!
Beware of the corny British humour!

Read-up first..
Ask questions, keep it simple, to start with.. Definitely try to avoid grades, keep an eye on the level across the track. - Especially on curves and turnouts.
Try to avoid using LGB R1 curves (if you have the space) - especially, if you want to run US / Can outline consists.

Don't be too ambitious. - This is an expensive, time-consuming hobby!
Beware! Once you get something running, the work-rate has a habit of dropping. ;):D

Most of all...
Enjoy!

PhilP.

playmofire

Registered
23 Oct 2010
North Yorks
Best answers
Country flag
Welcome from the UK, Ralph.