Greetings From Darkest Norfolk

Huw Jones

Registered
6 Apr 2016
Norwich
Best answers
Hi all, and a warm hello from what is a very damp Norfolk today.

My name is Huw and I'm rather new to garden railway modeling, although I'm not that new to model railways in general.
I had a rather extensive 00 layout as a kid, and then after University I moved into 009 as I've always had a thing for Narrow Gauge after growing up in Mid-Wales. When I had a health scare the 009 got sold and I spent my money on a fair number of push bikes which I now race every year, and do ridiculous endurance events to raise money for charity (I rode London to Paris in one day last year - 285 miles in a day hurts a little bit!).

However the arrival two and half years ago of our little boy has re-ignited the interest in trains in me, mainly due to him being exceedingly interested in anything mechanical especially trains! This has resulted in a return to 009, and the refinding of my soldering iron for building brass locomotive kits once more, but that doesn't necessarily mean running trains quite yet.

Last year we took our son to the Bure Valley Railway and they have a Thomas The Tank Engine G-Scale layout running at Aylsham Station that our little boy fell in love with, and that got me thinking........
One contact with a 009 Society member later and I had an LGB train set with a little 0-4-0 Porter, truck and caboose, a circle of track, and a pile of 5ft straights. I've added to that with the purchase of another complete circle of track, and 6 LGB points to make some interest for small and big boys alike.

This last weekend I have managed to get more work done on my boards, and I now have track down........

AFE85F62-3A6D-40E0-A8C5-09197EF55152.jpg

The other end of this track will have another loop to return the trains and that is yet to be built, but when it is I should finally be able to run trains.

Now a few questions.........