Gauge 1 on a Budget!

BigScaleD

Registered
26 Apr 2023
Preston UK
Best answers
Country flag
Hi there from Lancashire UK, another newbie here! I'm here because although I model in 10mm scale Gauge 1, I use G scale chassis and components as a power basis and make my own standard gauge locos and stock, as I'm on a budget.
I have an indoor layout with some scenery, bearing in mind the constraints of space, and have found it very rewarding. I've always preferred larger scale model trains, and have previously modelled in Gauge 1, O Gauge, and even G64 (motorised 2.5 inch gauge).
For example, my first present loco was an ex LMS 2P, plastikard body with metal fittings, with a motorised tender, using a 4 wheeled playmobil motorised chassis with a matching 3rd axle and wheels. The larger loco driving wheels were from a Steaming Mary loco. I also have a 4F, utilizing an identical tender, and Bachmann Big Hauler 51mm wheels for the loco.
I have other locos and rolling stock in gauge 1, all running on Peco G scale track to allow for the larger wheel flanges and smaller radius curves than normally used in Gauge 1, ie 1 metre ninimum. Now I've said hello, I hope to be giving some more detail and photos of my efforts soon, and wondered if any others on this forum have considered doing the same.

Regards,

David

Reactions: 1 user

idlemarvel

Neither idle nor a marvel
13 Jul 2015
Ascot
Country
Mars
Best answers
Country flag
Excellent. Welcome to another indoor G scale fan! Looking forward to the photos.

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
Nottingham
Best answers
Country flag
Hello David, welcome to the Forum.
We have another modeller who produces similar.

PhilP

Gizzy

A gentleman, a scholar, and a railway modeller....
26 Oct 2009
Cambridgeshire
www.gscalecentral.net
Best answers
Country flag
Welcome to the forum David.

it would be interesting to see your Playmo conversions....

Paul M

Registered
25 Oct 2016
Royston
Best answers
Country flag