Electronic Mystery Please Help... Battery 2095

CoggesRailway

Registered
25 Oct 2009
Best answers
Hi All,
Ok as many ideas as you can....

I have a 2095 converted to battery power using a cliff barker control system and sound.

I have a master power switch from where the lights/barker/sound are all powered from the non battery side. The sound has another inline off switch...

So occasionally it (barker unit/sound/lights all separate circuits) just doesn't come on at all. The battery is good with full power and is charging fine. Today it would not come on - totally dead on all three circuits.

Just now I took the top off and toggled the switch a few times dead as a doornail. then left it on the bench while doing something else. Then all of sudden the engine noise starts, lights come on and its all fine?!??!?

It would seems the master switch is randomly turning on/off. but it is just a mini toggle mechanical switch you see at maplin - it is in fact the switch whatlep fitted when he did the original conversion. i'm stumped.

is my logic right - it must be the switch as all three circuits work or not randomly - but together?? can such a switch behave this way?

Madman

Registered
25 Oct 2009
Pennsylvania, USA
Best answers
Country flag
The short answer is yes. Either the contacts inside of the switch are faulty or one of the soldered connections to the switch could be loose.
One thing you mentioned has raised a question however. You mentioned the sound and lights were powered from the non-battery side. Would you elaborate on that?

CoggesRailway

Registered
25 Oct 2009
Best answers
Thanks Dan. I think I shall replace the switch.