Digitrax

Alpineandy

Registered
25 Oct 2009
Alpennines
Best answers
Country flag
I am considering this system for my railway, most likely the wireless duplex system.

Any pro's and cons would be useful to aid my decision.

Thanks in anticipation :thinking:

PaulRhB

This Way Up
24 Oct 2009
Wilts Drifting toward the RhB,plate tectonics rock
Best answers
Country flag
Pros
It's a well proven product and does what it claims well, several stockists for extras in the UK. Price, it's the cheapest uk legal radio system and extra basic throttles only cost around £92 by far the cheapest option for adding extra radio throttles.

Cons
Manual is a bit techno speak in places. The handsets buttons are all the same sizes you have to look rather than feel for functions.

I've looked at several and, unless NCE do a uk legal radio, this is my top choice to replace the MTS when it succumbs. The NCE throttles are more intuitive and I use their system for my OO stuff.
I've been using my mts since 2002 so it's hopefully got a few more years in it but it's easier to do research now and just watch developments on each system in case one leaps ahead with useful features.

New Haven Neil 2

Registered
24 May 2011
Isle of Man
Best answers
I only have proper hands on experience with Lenz and Digitrax, I found the Digi handsets to be a total nightmare, just not intuitive to use at all. A brief try of NCE was positive though. I use Lenz which is OK, but a touch expensive and getting a bit out of date now. I've had it for years though, totally reliable.

As an aside, the only decoder from over 40 in use I have ever had the magic smoke escape from was Digitrax.

Brixham

No buffers were hurt at this sign
27 Aug 2010
Best answers
Country flag
As previous posters have said, the system works well, but the control surfaces are difficult to use, with many small buttons all the same colour and very closely spaced.