Chipping An Lgb/aster Ngg13 Garratt

Zerogee

Clencher's Bogleman
25 Oct 2009
North Essex
Best answers
Country flag
I would still be tempted to try the loco on the track, with the decoders in, and just see if it runs..... even if you can't reprogramme them for some odd reason, they might still be functional.
Of course that would depend on them both still being programmed with the default loco address (3) - though even if they are not, it should still run under analogue.....

DISCLAIMER! I'm no great expert on these things, I only offer advice based on things I've experienced myself or have picked up over the years and believe to be correct - if anyone reading this knows that putting it on the track would be a BAD idea and might cause the escape of Magic Smoke, then please speak up and I will gladly consider myself corrected! ;)

Jon.

Orgiva

Registered
2 Jan 2016
Alpujarras
Best answers
Country flag
Jon, just tried it on the track with the decoders and cable fitted but it was dead. Tried various loco addresses just in caser the IDs had been changed. I tried it in analogue with the decoders still in, but again nothing.

Took the decoders out, re-positioned the DIP switches, and all is working again on analogue.

It must be the decoders.

Zerogee

Clencher's Bogleman
25 Oct 2009
North Essex
Best answers
Country flag
Sorry to hear it's still not working; yes, to me that would certainly suggest that both the decoders are faulty, but it was worth a try!
One last test before junking them would be if you have a spare LGB motor block (or indeed any 4-pin power unit), you could plug the decoders on to that one at a time and check them individually - if they still don't work, then I'm afraid I'd consider them dead.