Beck zillertall/helene locomotive (circ 1980 ish)

Ferrysteam

Registered
25 Oct 2009
Co Durham
Best answers
stephen said:
Hi,
Could Anyone help. My beck zilertall has a problem. Tried to fire today but as i lit burner it blew out. Tried to fire again to no availl. Gas tank was full no evidence of leekage. Not sure if gas control valve faulty. Or burrner needs cleaned ?. As I am quite new to live steam. I would welcome all advice.

With thanks

Steve
Try turning the gas down when you light it,it may be too high.

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
Staff member
GSC Moderator
25 Oct 2009
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Best answers
Country flag
Another possibility could be too much air entering the th fire tube. Back in the 80's when I had a Merlin beck Loco Kit that would not light up at all I got in touch with Tom Cooper. The gas poker will be the same as yours as Tom used Beck parts. Air can sometimes get in via the connection that secures the poker in place.

c203dd9cf892485abf4bdf074112bc87.jpg

What Tom told me was to make sure the joint behind the washer (between the Nut and the Boiler in the picture) was airtight, in those days I used GunGum a repair Paste used to repair car Exhausts (not too much). You can test to see if this is a problem in the first instance by holding a lighted match near the join, if it flares up you know that you have leaking gas. Make sure that you do this after all the gas that spills after you have filled the burner has dispersed. I like to flap a teat towel at the loco to do this. You should be able to get something similar at a car spares place.

If this does not solve the problem the next stage is to move the poker itself either further in or out. Do this with very small adjustments. Eventually you should arrive at a satisfactory air flow. The skrew in the picture will loosen the poker to allow adjustments to be made. Good Luck and I hope this helps,
JonD

mike

Master at annoying..
Staff member
GSC Moderator