Bachmann Spectrum GE 45 ton Electrical Troubleshooting

trailsideGguy

Registered
10 Nov 2022
USA
Best answers
Country flag
I'm a newbie and have been given several engines including a Bachmann Spectrum 45 ton. After cleaning and lubricating I've tried testing it out. At first one truck worked well while the other didn't move an inch. Now both don't move. I detached each truck and took it apart. Both motors and the electrical pickups from the wheels to the circuit board inside the truck work fine. However, the motor contacts inside the truck coming off the circuit board aren't indicating they're getting power from the circuit board to run the motor. Has anyone had this problem? Could it be the circuit board has been fried somehow?

Rhinochugger

Retired Oik
27 Oct 2009
North West Norfolk
Best answers
Country flag
The bits that sometimes give trouble are the four slim plungers (two each end) that form the connections between the bogies and the main chassis.

You'll need to take it apart - a long and painful process - and check that the springs are strong enough (they'll accept a bit of stretching) and that the pins are properly seated.

trailsideGguy

Registered
10 Nov 2022
USA
Best answers
Country flag
Great, Thanks! I'll give that a shot.

trailsideGguy

Registered
10 Nov 2022
USA
Best answers
Country flag
Hi Rhinochugger, I haven't been able to determine how to take the plungers apart to stretch the springs. Do you have any tips?

Fred2179G

Registered
20 Apr 2017
USA
Best answers
Country flag
The bits that sometimes give trouble are the four slim plungers (two each end) that form the connections between the bogies and the main chassis.
I'll second that. The 45 tonner and some of the geared locos are terrible. And stretching the springs won't help for long.

I suggest soldering jumper wires between the truck and the loco, which we did on Jerry's loco. If you really think you will be removing the trucks often, then install a 4-pin mini JST (XH?) plug.

Rhinochugger