Bachmann 3 truck shay with DCC sound

Richie

Rio Grande Railroad , Mountain biking , Gardening
24 Oct 2009
Albrighton West Midlands
Best answers
Have got a Bachmann 3 truck shay that has a factory fitted DCC sound , I'm looking at running it at the next South Staffs meet with my new log train up till now i've only used it on DC so i don't get all the extra sounds . Has any one out there ever used theres on DCC as i'm not 100% sure that i can run it on DCC the instructions are not very clear to me as i've never used DCC before have asked several people who run DCC but they weren't 100% sure either ???
Have read on other threads of the sound cutting out over 16v what good is this if DCC is 24v ??
will this cause damage to loco and sound board ??
The DCC controller at the South Staffs layout looks like a early LGB MTS unit .
2a27d0f41c3243c6bb48d037f308789a.jpg

ntpntpntp

Registered
24 Oct 2009
UK
Country
United-Kingdom
Best answers
Country flag
Have read on other threads of the sound cutting out over 16v
From what I've read about the factory fitted sound version, the decoder starts to cut out at around 18 volts. I think the problem was the decoder used by Bachmann wasn't really one designed specifically for large scale? I've also read that one way to reduce the voltage seen by the shay's decoder is to fit pairs of reverse-parallel wired diodes in one of the track feeds, to drop the voltage by a couple of volts per pair.

what good is this if DCC is 24v ??
LGB MTS at 24v is arguably not the norm, other DCC systems run at (or can be adjusted to run at) lower voltages. It depends on the system and the modelling scale. My NCE system is set at around 18v and I find that's plenty for my various brands of locos and my preferred style of running (ie. not belting stuff round at top speed). Judging by replies on another recent DCC thread there are a few of us out there who quite happily run our DCC at lower than 24v.