Anybody using Digitrax?

J

jimmielx

45mm gauge track - approx 16mm scale (1:19)
24 Oct 2009
605
0
London, UK
Hi all

I'm just wondering if anybody out there is using a Digitrax DCC control system. I've done a bit of investigating and a basic 5A digitrax system will cost around £250 with no CV reading or £320 with CV reading, compared to £420 for an 5A LGB MTS III system or £750 for an 8A Massoth system (all excluding transformers).

The digitrax system has a selectable output voltage including a G scale 20v setting so it would seem to fit the bill. The major drawback that I can see is that the radio throttles are not licensed for use in Europe which is a shame, but I will be quite happy with a tether so looking at the figures I am very tempted to with the digitrax.

I have a sprog for programming so I'm not really interested in being able to read back CVs and I am interested in the medium term to set up automatic train operations probably using the open source Rocrail program which would also allow me to use their iPhone based throttle too. Digitrax appears to enjoy wide support for computer connection and compatability with the software out there (I need to run the software on a Mac too).

Anyway on the surface the Digitrax really seems like the obvious choice, but as I don't think I've ever seen it mentioned on the forum I just thought I'd ask if anyone has any experience of it before I take the plunge.

Thanks

James
 
M

Mez

Registered
30 Mar 2010
1,222
0
Oxfordshire
Hello
The massoth has a transformer built in. the 1200z
 
Martino

Martino

Kit bashing, The UK narrow gauge, The GWR, Aviatio
I use a Digitrax set up here in the US.

I find it great and a reasonable price.

I do use the radio throttle as well as tethered.

If you've got specific questions either PM me or post it here and I'll try and answer.

It's a good system from my point of view.
 
dunnyrail

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
15,379
617
71
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
M

Mez

Registered
30 Mar 2010
1,222
0
Oxfordshire
Sorry!
 
M

Mez

Registered
30 Mar 2010
1,222
0
Oxfordshire
For posting wrong info.
 
M

Mez

Registered
30 Mar 2010
1,222
0
Oxfordshire
I have banned myself!
 
C

Cliff George

Registered
24 Oct 2009
2,121
0
City of Chelmsford
Hello James,

Have you considered Lenz? For £250 you could get a Lenz set 90. That would get you going 5A, selectable output voltage, highly extendable, full CV programming, widely available in the UK, cheap wireless control via XPA and cordless phone, very popular (not just large scale) so all software is going to support it. You can boost the power output to a notional 10A with a parallel power station.

Running software on a MAC is going to restrict your choice of software. I know free software sounds good, but considering what we spend on our trains a bit of dosh splashed on some good software is well worth in it my view.

I'm using traincontroller by RR&Co and that can be controlled by just about any WiFi enabled device including iPhone.

Regards
Cliff
 
J

jimmielx

45mm gauge track - approx 16mm scale (1:19)
24 Oct 2009
605
0
London, UK
Hi guys

Thank you for the responses.
Martino, thank you for your reply - it's great to know that someone is using the Digitrax and happy with it!
Cliff, I'm now going to look into the Lenz option too!

Cheers
James
 
C

corgi

Registered
24 Oct 2009
776
0
Melbourne, Australia
I have been using Digitrax on my HO since 1996. If I were to put DCC onto my garden I would stick with Digitrax.
 
J

jimmielx

45mm gauge track - approx 16mm scale (1:19)
24 Oct 2009
605
0
London, UK
Hi all

Thanks again for the responses.

Cliff following your email I looked into the Lenz 90 set you suggested further and after also chatting to the Chris at Digitrains (who was most helpful) I have decided to go with the Lenz system. It seems to be horses-for-courses between Digitrax and Lenz, but in the end I was swayed towards the Lenz system. For now I've ordered a Set 90 and a 6 way points decoder to get me going and will upgrade to the occupancy detection and computer interface later.

Anyway, just thinking ahead a bit as it has not yet arrived I was wondering what track voltage folks use as the Lenz system has various settings. My locos are very happy at the 15v the sprog gives me so I'm wondering if there is any need to go to a higher track voltage? I imagine that trains run faster, and lights are brighter, but I'm not interested in either of those. So are there any other advantages or am I just as well to stay at the default track voltage?

Thanks again

James
 
J

jimmielx

45mm gauge track - approx 16mm scale (1:19)
24 Oct 2009
605
0
London, UK
Thanks Mez!
 
C

Cliff George

Registered
24 Oct 2009
2,121
0
City of Chelmsford
Oh dear what have I done.

For max power output, and not getting the command station shut down early due to excessive heat, it is best to use the same track voltage that is put out by the transformer. I use 18V for this reason, but this seems about right to me anyway, not too fast on max. I'd probably be happy with less if my transformer put out less.

Regards
Cliff