What Controller Do you Recomend?

Graham@4

Registered
31 Jul 2012
Best answers
Hi everyone,
This morning my wife asked me what I wanted for Christmas (keep it clean!!). I'm new to G Scale but now have a small single track back garden set-up approx. size 16ft x 12ft with a 7ft siding.
So I've decided that I want a "top make" reliable nice looking analogue DC controller with a built in transformer to run up to say 25 volts with additional power terminals for track lights etc.
I'm sure many of you, over the years, have tried all of this type of controller that's on the market. So what do you advise me to go for?
Thanks all in anticipation for your help.
Best wishes, Graham @4

Gizzy

A gentleman, a scholar, and a railway modeller....
26 Oct 2009
Cambridgeshire
www.gscalecentral.net
Best answers
Country flag
I'm with Neil on this one?

I wouldn't recommend the Gaugemaster G Scale controller. I was given one recently that I've yet to get round to repairing. I've heard these are prone to failure. Shame as most Gaugemester controllers are very good....

Brixham

No buffers were hurt at this sign
27 Aug 2010
Best answers
Country flag
Gizzy....G'master have a lifetime warranty on their controllers...
Just box it up, and send it off, and it comes back fixed, normally within 10 days or so. All FREE!!!

I've got several for OO, but my O and G versions do get hot with continual running...
It seems that the case can't dissipate the increased power that the larger scales use. I have seen a unit being 'blown' by an external fan in the hope of reducing it's suitability to fry eggs on the case.

As to the original question...
I would have a separate power source for the lights
And provided that you're not running heavy trains hauled by USA trains diesels, or treb;e heading with small LGB type 040's....a LGB 2 amp supply ( located indoors ) and an LGB garden controller hut 5012 ( 2 amp version in green ) which turn up on the second hand market. Or the 5 amp equivalents.