Truck and wheel help

Fred Seider

Registered
29 Aug 2023
East PA
Best answers
Country flag
Hi all. New to the garden railway game, but I am a model builder. I'd like to get trucks, wheels and coupler sets, for scratch building boxcars, cabooses, passenger cars, etc for my upcoming LGB build out. (Winter project for the rolling stock) Basically, I want to build the rolling stock, and would like to just somehow affix my 'non' rolling stock scratch build and make it rolling stock. Any advice on products - I am getting overwhelmed and have little detail knowledge. Or decent articles would be appreciated. I am not overly particular on prototyping, but targeting 'roughly late 1800's - early 1900's. Not critical at all.
Advice? Thanks in advance!

Paul M

Registered
25 Oct 2016
Royston
Best answers
Country flag
Welcome to the forum, Fred. Have you scanned the auction sites for old wagon bases? Or even looked into 3D printing?

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
Staff member
GSC Moderator
25 Oct 2009
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Best answers
Country flag
LGB plastic wheels appear to be something that many want to get rid of after converting to metal replacements. The plastic ones can be had cheep and make a good starting point.

JimmyB

Now retired - trains and fishing
23 Feb 2018
Weston-super-Mare
www.tumble-down-falls.co.uk
Best answers
Country flag
LGB plastic wheels appear to be something that many want to get rid of after converting to metal replacements. The plastic ones can be had cheep and make a good starting point.
I have a few dozen plastic wheels set, anybody want them :)

Gizzy

A gentleman, a scholar, and a railway modeller....
26 Oct 2009
Cambridgeshire
www.gscalecentral.net
Best answers
Country flag
I have a few dozen plastic wheels set, anybody want them :)
Mizzy put mine on EvilBuy for 50 pence a piece.

They sold like hot cakes....

dunnyrail

Staff member
GSC Moderator
25 Oct 2009
Best answers
Country flag