TRAM DRIVER ........ CONDUCTOR ......... CONDUCTRESS .......... anybody ????

hankbonaire

Registered
20 Jan 2021
bonaire
Best answers
Country flag
This might be off topic but is there anyone on the "All Things Trams" or other Forums who has actually worked on trams as a crew member .......... by that I mean
Driver ....... Conductor ....... Conductress ????
Actually, I was a newbie trolleybus conductor (I know, rubber tires) based at Hampden Park, Glasgow, Scotland but was loaned out to Partick Depot for ONE day due to many sick calls.
Partick was 100% spaghetti-like iron rails and wheels ......... not a rubber tire in sight.
Dispatcher introduced me to my driver and off we went.
It was a Saturday, a 2 axle number 9 tramcar, (jeeliejaur), in Glaswegian, Auchenshuggle to Dalmuir West, straight track, 10 miles, 12 to Carmyle.
We got hammered both ways all day.
I learned a lot about trams, loved it and was thinking about building a Coronation tram in G gauge from a Meccano set. It will be very heavy and won't go thru' tunnels.

Attachments

• London-Road-at-Bridgeton-Cross-2.jpg
    London-Road-at-Bridgeton-Cross-2.jpg
    238.4 KB · Views: 0
  • London-Road-at-Bridgeton-Cross-1.jpg
    London-Road-at-Bridgeton-Cross-1.jpg
    202.2 KB · Views: 0

Jasper

Hey, I'm only being creative here.
11 Mar 2017
The Netherlands
Best answers
Country flag
I got as far as a twenty minute lesson driving a PCC Car.

The occasion was a 10 year jubilee of a tram depot, with an open house and tram driving lessons. This was in The Hague in the early nineties.

Last edited:

hankbonaire

Registered
20 Jan 2021
bonaire
Best answers
Country flag
I got as far as a twenty minute lesson on a PCC Car.

The occasion was a 10 year jubilee of a tram depot, with an open house and tram driving lessons. This was in The Hague in the early nineties.
No driving for me. It was "FARES PLEASE", money and tickets all day.

Monty

Registered
16 Apr 2018
Springwood, NSW, Australia
Best answers
Country flag