Track cleaning

Dylanlewis2000

Registered
17 Feb 2010
Best answers
Country flag
Hi all

I am a newbie here, not really new to the model railway scene but i have had a little experience in the past. What im after is a bit of advice about general upkeep and cleaning of the track. How often do you clean yours? I have a lot of LGB track which does get dirty failrly quickly. I also have a little bit of aristocraft track which does get dirty but cleans much easier. I have a hand cleaner which brings the track up to a lovely shine, i also have just bought a addon for my LGB truck that cleans as it is pulled by a train.

Another question is how do you clean the fishplates that connect the track?

Thanks in advance!

the mickster

garden railway,mtb,ufo's,my sons xbox when i get t
24 Oct 2009
Chesterfield
Best answers
Hi, I use all Aristocraft track and usually clean it once a week.When the track was layed i also put LGB graphite paste in the fish plates as well. so no need to clean these just the tops of the rails. I use an LGB track cleaning block zip tied to the bottom of a garden hoe...saves a lot of back ache..Regards Mick.

Madman

Registered
25 Oct 2009
Pennsylvania, USA
Best answers
Country flag
I also clean my track manually. I have an LGB track cleaning block that I mounted to the end of a drywall sanding pole. I only use it two or three times during the entire operating season, which is five months give or take. And I run my track cleaning train at least once a week. This is nothing more than a small flatcar with an LGB cleaning attachment fitted to the underside. I pull it with double headed Stainz locos.

http://1stclass.mylargescale.com/madman/100_1222.JPG

http://1stclass.mylargescale.com/madman/100_1225.JPG

Gizzy

A gentleman, a scholar, and a railway modeller....
26 Oct 2009
Cambridgeshire
www.gscalecentral.net
Best answers
Country flag
Dylanlewis2000 said:
Hi all