Total newbie question re: controlling LGB points

ThomasDadDurham

Really Useful Engine
16 Jul 2023
County Durham
Best answers
Country flag
So im about to try and wire up a first simple passing loop. Power wise I have a pair of the 5003 start set controllers, with the accesories output marked as 14V 0.5A. I have a pair 12070 turnout auxiliary switch, a pair of 12010 turnout mechanism/point motor. I can see how those wire together, and where my isolating blocks go. Rather than use the Markin control box, Ive got a SPDT switch. A 3 position cam switch to be exact - (lets call it position 1/OFF/Position 3.) . I had initially thought it just worked by reversing the polarity, but that isnt the case right, because thats how DC works and these are AC?

So Ive read I need to have two diodes, and have them wired in opposite directions position 1 one way, position 3 other way. All makes sense as far as I understand AC.

But what diode? Can someone make life easy and point me at the exact diode I need on RS Components? Every thread Ive read on this and other forums people are saying 'diode' but nothing more about what exactly Im looking for.

I dont want to 'just use the readymade marklin control box' because I want to make my own control box, and expand it as the layout expands.

As a final Q: theres enough 'juice' from a starter set control box to switch the paired points of a passing loop right? I notice every thread says '18v' but the starter control set is clearly labelled 14v on its accessory output.

Last edited:

playmofire

Registered
23 Oct 2010
North Yorks
Best answers
Country flag