Simple Pot-Boiler scratchbuild Plans?

Benjamin Maggi

Model Railroading, Collecting/Playing Guitars, Boa
13 Nov 2009
New York State, USA
Best answers
I am interested in building a Gauge 1 live steam locomotive. I like British style trains, especially tank engines and tram engines, and having built some cars from scratch am looking for appropriate motive power. I have some machining experience, as I am also building a 7.25" gauge Allen Models mogul. However, I would like to try and build a small pot-boilered, alcohol fired engine for Gauge 1 track. It can be in the outline of a steam engine, or look like a steam tram. I don't care about the # of cylinders, nor do I even care about reversing ability. However, the ability to be able to throttle it down might be nice. I care most about it having a nice long run time (30 minutes+) and being able to haul maybe a car or two at the most.

The most important thing about it would be simplicity of construction. I have access to a small lathe, though using pre-machined parts like wheels and cylinders would be a definite plus. I don't want to buy a Ruby kit or a Roundhouse kit because they are more then I want to spend right now. Besides, I want to try and nickel and dime it over time, and be able to have something in the end that is uniquely my own.

Are you aware of plans out there that might fit my need? Do you have any advice, or thoughts, on the subject?

Benjamin Maggi

13 Nov 2009
New York State, USA
Best answers
Also, can anyone point me to a source where I can purchase Peter Jones' book: "First Steps in Building a Steam Loco?"

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
Staff member
GSC Moderator
25 Oct 2009
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Best answers
Country flag