Simple battery set up with Piko rc and mylocosound

Harry W

Registered
21 Apr 2018
South Gloucestershire
Best answers
Country flag
I'm currently attempting to construct a battery powered loco for the first time. My plan is to use the Piko rc system (35040) with mylocosound and a li-on battery used for cctv cameras. Because I'm not very good with electronics I want to keep it as simple as possible. My plan is to wire it up like in the attached diagram but instead of sending the wires from Piko rc to the battery/ switch/ charge socket / fuse arrangement, the wires from V1+ and V2 will go directly into this battery using the same type of socket that is used for the charger (Safari Drives 12V DC 30W 81.6Wh 6800mah Rechargeable Lithium Ion, Li-ion Portable Battery Pack, Power Bank for CCTV Cameras, LED Strips and more. With UK Plug Charger: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics & Photo). This way in order to charge the battery all I would need to do is unplug the battery from the loco and charge it with the supplied charger. Sorry if this has not been explained too clearly. Are there any reasons that this set up would not work?

Thanks,
Harry

Attachments

• Screenshot 2022-04-10 at 12.39.16.png
    Screenshot 2022-04-10 at 12.39.16.png
    179.6 KB · Views: 0

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
Nottingham
Best answers
Country flag
That should be fine..

However, absolute minimum, fit a fuse.
Preferably a switch as well.

Your battery pack is enormous (for the power you will need) and lithium batteries can supply many, many Amps. - Enough to fry your electronics, and make the wiring too hot to unplug.

A 2Amp fuse will be more than enough.

PhilP

Harry W

Registered
21 Apr 2018
South Gloucestershire
Best answers
Country flag
Okay thanks I'll do that. I think the Piko rc comes with a switch so I will include that in the setup.

Harry

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
Staff member
GSC Moderator
25 Oct 2009
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK