Roundhouse Jennie or Mamod Stirling

Nighthaunt

Registered
7 Dec 2014
Kent
Best answers
Country flag
Hi All,

Unusually for me not on DCC pondering the nightmare of potentially having to invest in a soldering iron.

I’ve been lucky and got awarded a bonus at work, and am pondering investing in a live steam loco. I picked up an Accucraft Dora but am considering either the Roundhouse Jennie or Mamod Stirling and wondered what the opinion of people who know something about live steam locos was - which suits an absolute beginner more? Is one better than another?

Many thanks for any pointers or thoughts

Alex

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
Staff member
GSC Moderator
25 Oct 2009
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Best answers
Country flag
If you can afford it a Roundhouse will give you good performance and reliability. Their former advertising stance of ‘Sure as Sunrise’ claim was and still is well justified. As with all live steam there is a learning and familiarisation process, I would suggest that you join the 16mm society and attend a couple of local meetings where you will not only get advice but be able to see locomotives being readied for service and running.

JimmyB

Now retired - trains and fishing
23 Feb 2018
Weston-super-Mare
www.tumble-down-falls.co.uk
Best answers
Country flag
If you have flat and level track, a manual loco is fine, however if like me, you have gradients it need to be RC, and you need to drive the loco, unlike electric driven locos steam one slow considerably going up, and speed up coming down hills, and if you have a curve at the bottom of the gradient, it can lead to disaster (I am sure you know, how I know ;)).

Paul M

Registered
25 Oct 2016
Royston
Best answers
Country flag
One advantage of a Mamod over a Roundhouse loco, apart from the cost, is that it keeps you fit running after it!
Having said that, they are fun to have.

Nighthaunt

Registered
7 Dec 2014
Kent
Best answers
Country flag