Reverse loops in DCC

Markku

Registered
19 Jul 2020
Finland
Best answers
Country flag
Hi all,

Being grown in Märklin-land, I have been totally ignorant about any reverse loop problems. But now that I'm getting myself familiar with two-rail garden railways I have some questions.

For analog (DC), I think I understand the case: in LGB they have the suitable special pieces of track (containing diodes and whatever) that make it possible to ride through the loop (stopping in the middle or something like that...). But as an IT engineer I'm not so interested in analog so digital would be my choice (I think at the moment at least!).

In digital (DCC) I see there are specific reverse loop modules ("autoreverser"?) in LGB and Massoth at least, and they are connected with sensor setup or to detect the short-circuits caused by the rolling stock running over the isolations. (I've read the LGB 55085 manual from MTS Reverse Loop Module | Märklin.) Fair enough. But my questions are:
  1. Are these DCC reverse loop modules somehow dependent on the central station details? I mean, if I choose the wonderfully cheap ML-Train central station, can I use those LGB or Massoth reverse loop modules with it? (I haven't yet decided the CS but it depends on the pricing, availability, features, etc.; I will ask about those in a separate thread some day...)
  2. For the two setup modes (sensors or short-circuit detection), are there some specific pros/cons that I should be aware of? From the LGB module manual I see that the wiring for the short-circuit detection is much simpler so that's a pro for that option I think.
  3. If I have two or more loops, can I use the same module for all those loops? Does it then matter how many trains are in the loops at the same time or so?