Piko point used for siding and analogue system

davecar

Registered
23 Jun 2010
Liverpool
Best answers
Hi All,

I am new to this so please forgive me if my question is very basic.

I had planned to do a loop system and a long track but after consulting colleagues on this forum I decided to do an oval - it is about 22 metres long. I had already purchased a Piko point so I have decided to do just one siding off the main track.

I have tried laying the track on the grass with the point and siding and it does appear to work OK but the siding appears to be live all the time. I can live with this and not park any locos in the siding, just rolling stock.

Is it that simple or am I missing a trick? I know it is a basic issue but I do want to get it right.

Any help or suggestions will be gratefully received.

Kind regards,

Dave

Neil Robinson

Registered
24 Oct 2009
N W Leicestershire
Best answers
Country flag
Hello and welcome.
You've done nothing wrong. Self isolating points are common in other scales but not in G.
If you wish to park up a loco you need to isolate and install an electrical switch for one of the siding rails or switch the loco off, many G scale locos have motor on/off switches as standard.
Should you go for digital control this can be performed remotely.

mike

Master at annoying..
Staff member
GSC Moderator
24 Oct 2009
Rossendale
www.gscalecentral.net
Best answers
Country flag
:clap:just remeber, theres no such thing as a silly question..
there are of course, silly asnwers:rofl:

Old Tom

Registered
10 Apr 2010
West Sussex
tomlancaster.weebly.com
Best answers
Neil Robinson said:
Self isolating points are common in other scales but not in G.
Because Neil has answered Dave's question, I hope no-one minds me hi-jacking this thread...

My question is: Why are G scale points live frog?

Isolating frogs are a lot more useful on any layout with more than one loco and just wondered if anyone knew the reason why the standard is live frog?

ntpntpntp

Registered