New to the Forum and G Scale

Johndoor69

Registered
21 Nov 2022
Douglas, GA
Best answers
Country flag
I’m new to G Scale but not new to model railroading. This year I added a G-Scale train to my Christmas decorations in my yard. A little about my set up, I have 84 feet of track (a single radius followed by 6 sections of straight track then another single radius - forming a large circle or dodecagon if you want to be technical but we will call it a circle). I am running a Bachman 4-6-0 steam locomotive follow by a coal tender and a few freight cars... Now for my issue I am hoping someone has some ideas, the traction wheels on the locomotive have no issue, none of the freight cars have any issue, but the 4 - "guide wheels" on the locomotive keep derailing, (speed has not seemed to affect the ability of the wheels to stay on the track. Has anyone else encountered this problem? I was thinking of possibly adding a heavier spring to the guide wheel assembly, maybe increasing the down pressure would keep the wheels in contact with the track, Thoughts? I am open to suggestions or ideas. Attached are a few photos of my setup when i was getting started.
Train #1.jpegTrain #2.jpeg

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
Nottingham
Best answers
Country flag
Welcome to the Forum, John!

Lots of good advice, but some very dodgy jokes. You have been warned. ;)

PhilP.

Reactions: 1 user

Paradise

Registered
28 Jan 2010
Back Yard
Country
Australia
Best answers
Country flag
Welcome to the forum John. :)

The pilot truck on earlier Bachmann 4-6-0 locomotives were flimsy and tend to eventually break. The truck tends to flop about too. Later versions of the same locomotive have a far better metal pilot truck. I think the newer trucks are no longer available from Bachmann parts unfortunately.