Motor Selection for DIY Engine?

sircastor

Registered
3 Apr 2024
Portland, OR
Best answers
Country flag
I am relatively new to model trains (My father was big into N-Scale, but that was 20 years ago) and I'm interested in building my own engine - In part because it's gonna be a while before I can grow beyond my LGB starter engine, but also because I'm an electronics and 3D Printing enthusiast and I like making things.

I realize that I can buy a motor block from Bachmann or LGB and that'd get me started, but I'd like to start at a component level. I haven't been able to find specs for the Bachmann motors. G-scale tends to run ~12v-24v in a simple DC setup. I came across some other info where someone was using a pair of 6v motors. So I'm curious if anyone has any recommendations for motors? I'm also interested in a DCC setup eventually, but I need some more equipment before I get too far into that.

Degauss

Registered
9 Jun 2017
Australia
Best answers
Country flag
I am relatively new to model trains (My father was big into N-Scale, but that was 20 years ago) and I'm interested in building my own engine - In part because it's gonna be a while before I can grow beyond my LGB starter engine, but also because I'm an electronics and 3D Printing enthusiast and I like making things.

I realize that I can buy a motor block from Bachmann or LGB and that'd get me started, but I'd like to start at a component level. I haven't been able to find specs for the Bachmann motors. G-scale tends to run ~12v-24v in a simple DC setup. I came across some other info where someone was using a pair of 6v motors. So I'm curious if anyone has any recommendations for motors? I'm also interested in a DCC setup eventually, but I need some more equipment before I get too far into that.